Jumping Georgie

The great news is that Georgie is still feeling great!

This past week we worked on some light dressage. I started by riding for 20 minutes and gradually worked up to a full 25 minutes by weeks end. It’s amazing to me how quickly one falls out of riding shape. I’m not in the best shape of my life by any means but I was embarrassed by the fact that I was breathing hard in the canter. While I haven’t been running I have been doing spin classes, barre classes and hiking up mountains Yet just cantering in circles was tough. Honestly, so embarrassing.

My back felt ok. Not great, but I think its getting better. I am doing some core exercises everyday and hope that by the end of January I will be back to where I was….

Today Georgie and I partook in a free jump extravaganza. Extravaganza is not the right word, as there were just 6 horses and it was some of Sarah’s pony club members along with myself and another adult. Georgie was feeling good.  She flew around the arena and the poles in the chute like a maniac. Sarah set the first jump and it didn’t back her off so up it went. I loved seeing her so forward and happy. Of course, by the time the grid was set and the jumps were a respectable height she had worn herself out a bit. So, we didn’t push her too hard, especially since she had been inactive during her illness, but she jumped 3’6 easily and happily. She’s a good girl, thats for sure!

Here’s a link to her YouTube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytAm6RbbK3c

Here’s to more happy days and happy horses.

xoxo

Nadia and Georgie

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

