Dressage Butt Kicking

So much has happened! Well, not really, but it sure feels like it!

I’ve had two dressage lessons and participated in the grid jumping clinic as well.

Our first dressage lesson went well. Sarah was very kind and we spent a lot of time at the walk. Loosening my back and working on my position. We did canter some, and it actually went ok.

So I thought in my head, this is great, and Georgie and I will work up to cantering for longer period of times and working on her collection over time. But then today’s lesson happened and I realized Sarah was not thinking the same thing. Today’s lesson consisted of Sarah kicking my butt! At one point I think I squeaked “this is hard, I’m tired” to which Sarah replied by saying “Ok, change direction and pick up the canter.” I was really hoping for, “ok, let’s walk.” But I know Sarah, and I know she bristles when anyone says “this is hard” when they are riding. So I guess I deserved to get my butt kicked. But it WAS hard. We have a ways to go, and I need to get stronger. And at the end of the lesson my back was on fire, but thats ok, at least I am riding.

This past Saturday was the grid jumping. I hadn’t jumped in 2 months, and you could tell. Good news is I got better as the hour went on. That damn lower leg has GOT to stay in place! And my hands! Oy vey! Georgie was a rockstar and she was very happy to be jumping. We had a great group of horses and riders and it was really fun to watch everyone.

Here’s a video of one of our last times through the grid: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyLqP1ygyoc

Looking forward to the next one!! And more dressage. Kinda.

Leave a Reply

