Being Thankful

My apologies to all my New England friends, because the weather here has been ridiculously, unseasonably, lovely. One of my favorite canyons to condition at has pretty much dried up. Yes, this is scary for February, but I am going to enjoy it while it lasts. There’s a great jeep road with a gentle incline for a great trot/canter workout, and off of the road there are some steeper, longer climbs.

As someone who takes her horse’s fitness very seriously, I spend a lot of time out this canyon. To the point where Georgie was uber fit last season and Sarah had to tell me to cut back on the conditioning. (Whoops! I didn’t realize how easily Georgie gets and stays fit compared to my last draft x!)

For anyone who thinks greys are the best, and so beautiful, please know this is what they look like a lot of the time.

For anyone who thinks greys are the best, and so beautiful, please know this is what they look like a lot of the time.

This outing however, was all about enjoying the ride. No conditioning, no dogs and no gameplan. Georgie and I waked out the road and then up a hill so I could get some good pictures. (And yes, I did think as we were walking up the hill how lovely it was that Georgie was getting some hill work. I can’t completely shut off!)

The view from our turn around spot

The view from our turn around spot. Please disregard her dirty/disgusting ear. And neck

Have I mentioned how absolutely beautiful it is where I live? I’m really lucky that I have views that stun me nearly every direction I look! And getting horses fit is fairly easy considering our altitude, abundance of mountain rides and the fact that we don’t have much of a winter anymore. Our shows are typically at sea level, and the horses suck up all that extra oxygen!

On the way down Georgie and I found another great photo op, and we stopped to enjoy the view for a bit. But, since we were headed home, Georgie was more interested in getting back to her hay than recognizing the beauty surrounding her.

Bell Mountain. With very little snow on it.

Bell Mountain. With very little snow on it.

While I will always be competitive, and love eventing so much, rides like this make me realize that even if I don’t ever compete again, I am still so lucky to be able to ride a horse into these hills and enjoy the world around me. Not many people get to do what I sometimes take for granted.

It’s a bit frowned upon here to not want more snow, since without snow we end up in a drought during the summer. But these gorgeous days make it really really hard for me to hope for more snow. So here’s to more beautiful days, and somehow managing to have enough water this summer that we aren’t in a horrible drought. Not sure how that’ll happen, but one can wish!

Xoxo

Nadia and Georgie

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Being Thankful

  1. I can’t believe that’s where you can trail ride! How unbelievable beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

