Weird Hand Nadia

What a fun week it’s been! I’ve stuck to my exercise resolution, doing lots of hikes and spin class, and the dreaded Barre class on Mondays. Stella has loved that I am feeling better and we’ve done some beautiful hikes!

On top of the world!

On top of the world!

We also had a fun grid jump day on Saturday. I love grids because I feel like I can really work on my position and not over think everything else. There’s lots about my position that needs work. My leg especially. But, I also do this really weird thing with my hands that I’ve never done before riding Georgie. I kinda turn them inward and lift up.  It has given me the nickname “Weird Hand Nadia” and I am not sure if I gave myself the nickname or it was bestowed upon me…

Pretty picture, right? But look at those hands! So weird! Also, I am not restricting Georgie's neck. She just likes to make her neck as short as possible...

Pretty picture, right? But look at those hands! So weird! Also, I am not restricting Georgie’s neck. She just likes to make her neck as short as possible…

Last year at Twin Rivers we helped judge fences on xc and a 4* rider came galloping by, looking beautiful. Then, 4 strides before the jump he started pumping his arms around and it was super bizarre. I asked Sarah why he was doing that and she looked at me and said “I don’t know. Maybe he’s weird arms James.” And I immediately felt a kinship with him. (Until later when we were in stabling and Stella went to say hi to him and he said “Go away dog.” I now dislike him very much. Which is sad, because we both have issues.)

Anyhow, back to jumping. On the whole it was fun and good and more often than not we weren’t asked to repeat the line a million times and got things right the first time through.

Today Georgie and I went on a beautiful conditioning ride. We went up a huge hill, but I think in the mid west or east it would have been considered a mountain. Lots of trotting with some breaks, but overall she seemed fit and very happy.

Georgie, the Silver Bullet and Black Beauty. I have names for everything...

Georgie, the Silver Bullet and Black Beauty. I have names for everything…

Here’s to more position work and a celebration of spring and more sunny days!

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Weird Hand Nadia

  1. Meg says:

    You’ve come a long way, baby!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meg says:

    Argh. Link not working. Will use alternative technology.

    Like

  3. At least you’re conscious of your weird hands. I swear mine act completely independently of me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

