Countdown to Take Off!

Oh My God, there is less than a week before I leave for my first recognized event of the season. WOOHOOOOOOO.

Typical for my life, I have been out of town for work until today, so now I get to frantically get ready for the event. And to make things more fun, I am driving myself for the very first time to an event that is more than 2 hours away. This event is nine hours away. That’s a rather larger difference. I am bringing my favorite road trip companion though, and I must say I am super excited to have her come along.

Looking at this face makes me happy. While she isn't a good navigator, she doesn't mind when I sing in the car.

Looking at this face makes me happy. While she isn’t a good navigator, she doesn’t mind when I sing in the car.

And now,  5 days before we leave, is when I really like to get in my head and get anxious, nervous and worried. Instead of looking forward to the fun, I worry we aren’t prepared enough, or that I will be intimidated by the xc jumps. I am honestly getting anxious just writing about the event, with all the what ifs flying through my head.

I’m a competitive person and an organized person, therefore not knowing what lays ahead is tough for me. And for every event I don’t know what lays ahead. I don’t know the xc course at this event, and I don’t know how our dressage test will go. I do know I should stop stressing, but I can’t. It’s just my nature. It kinda sucks, but I can’t imagine I am the only one with this problem…

And if I am totally honest, I will admit that bringing Stella, (my adorable dog) is kind of a coping mechanism for me. I get distracted getting into my routine of being her caretaker and I don’t have time to stress as much. At first I thought bringing my dogs to the event gave me more work and more to take care of, but Stella provides what Georgie can’t and it actually helps relax me. Is that weird? We’ll see how it goes this time around, but right now, I need to start packing and organizing and making lists of everything that needs to get done!

Three of my favorite things. Grey ears, dogs, and mountains.

Three of my favorite things. Grey ears, dogs, and mountains.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Countdown to Take Off!

  1. Very exciting! Good luck to you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

