Surrounded By Beauty

I’ve lived in Idaho for about ten years, having moved here from upstate NY. Ironically, when I lived in NY I didn’t event. Which is a bummer considering I went to school on a property that bordered the Millbrook Equestrian Center, a facility that hosts an amazing Horse Trial each year. And I was literally a stone’s throw away from many other great recognized events.

But I digress. My point is, that I have lived in Idaho for ten years and the beauty that surrounds me never ceases to amaze me.  I moved here partly for a job, and partly because I have always been fascinated by the west. As a child who loved the outdoors and loved horses, the west was like a magical playground. All I could think was, why doesn’t EVERYONE live in the west??

So today, as I was riding Georgie in the mountains I get to look at everyday, I stopped to take in the beauty around me. Ten years later, and I am still blown away by how pretty it is here.  I can now understand why everyone doesn’t live in the west, but man, I am lucky to be able to.

Holy wildflowers! Even Georgie stopped to check them out!

Holy wildflowers! Even Georgie stopped to check them out!

So, before you think ” Stop being so braggy” let me tell you this. We only have 1 recognized event in Idaho. And it is ALL the way across the state. A whopping 8-9 hour drive. We spend more time eventing in Washington, Oregon and California than we do Idaho. So, yeah, it’s pretty. But it is in the middle of nowhere.

Nothing but mountains. And horse ears.

Nothing but mountains. And horse ears.

That said. Today on my ride I saw no one. In fact, when I do see people, I get a little put out. It’s just so rare to have to share the trails! Also, I have zero excuses for having an unfit horse when I go to events. In fact, I’ve found that my horse is sometimes too fit, because I am so obsessed with getting out into the mountains weekly.

Not from my ride. But from my morning hike. Basically my backyard.

Not from my ride. But from my morning hike. Basically my backyard.

So, it’s hard to get here, there are zero recognized events closer than 4 hours away, and sometimes it feels pretty remote, but all in all, I have to say, I’m still fascinated with the west and so happy I live here!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Surrounded By Beauty

  1. Idaho is a cool place. I don’t even know what it’s like ot have real horse shows in close proximity, but you can’t argue with the view.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

