Georgie Update!

Oh my. So, Georgie got worse, way worse, before she got better.

Turns out it WAS an insect bite (thinking Brown Recluse spider), and the poor girl’s head got so swollen she could barely open her eyes and off to the horsepital we went!

Poor Georgie! That's some nasty stuff!

Poor Georgie! That’s some nasty stuff!

After two days of IV antibiotics she started to look like a normal horse again, and even better, she started acting like her sassy self, which involved dragging me around. But this time, I didn’t mind.

I heard top knots were fashionable right now, thank goodness. They look especially good with a normal sized head

I heard top knots were fashionable right now, thank goodness. They look especially good with a normal sized head

I will admit that the vet wanted to clip Georgie’s forelock off to get to the area of the bite better and I kinda freaked out. Who knew I was vain about my horse’s forelock? Luckily we compromised and did a little clip and mostly top knot.

Georgie is back at home and we took the catheter out yesterday. She gets a light ride for a couple of days and then back to work. I’ve entered in an Allison Springer clinic this weekend, and I think Georgie will still be up for it. I am incredibly excited and can’t wait to learn from such a talented and accomplished rider. And while we try to look polished and our best for these clinics, I hope Allison won’t judge Georgie’s raw and peeling face too harshly. At least she’ll have fancy sheepskin on her bridle.

Oy vey.

There will be pictures, I promise.

4 thoughts on “Georgie Update!

  1. Glad to hear georgie is better! Always hard and worrisome to have them ill

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh yay riding with Allison!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. draftmare says:

    Yikes, that is scary and nasty looking! Glad she recovered quickly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

