Rebecca Recap

I’ve been meaning to write this blog for a while. But I got back from Rebecca and life happened. So, here it is a week later.

It was amazing. Georgie was a rockstar and we’re both feeling really comfortable at Training level. We watched some of the Training 3 Day and I feel ready. And Georgie is beyond ready. We’ll keep working on fitness, but she is quite fit, and our dressage will hopefully continue to improve.

So, recap.

We schooled xc at Heron Park on Monday. It started out well. And then I lost my shit when Sarah wanted me to jump a ditch wall. Like, lost my shit completely. It was bad. We never did jump the ditch wall, but I got to school a Trakener about 30 times until I got my shit together again. The rest of the schooling was fine, not my best, but fine. Schooling is really hard for me mentally. The stop and go aspect is a challenge. I have a hard time riding well for 2 hours, whether I am riding the entire time or doing a lot of standing and watching. I need to work on that.

Tuesday was dressage lessons and swimming at the lake. Swimming at the lake was magical, my lesson wasn’t, so I opted for another lesson on Wednesday.

That lesson went much better! Can you tell we need to work on right bend? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1_kxnJB1UU

Thursday the novice group went so there was lots of watching and cheering and helping! And a really beautiful hack around the property.

Gorgeous canola fields! One day my hands will be normal

Gorgeous canola fields! One day my hands will be normal

And Friday we had dressage and xc.

Dressage was fine. It was rushed and not as accurate as I had wanted, but it was fine. Placed in 11th out of 23. Solidly in the middle.

I had walked my course a few times and there was one corner on course that had me slightly concerned, but I knew if I rode well it wouldn’t be a problem.

Georgie and I sailed through xc. Making time was a breeze and the entire course was fun fun fun!

Here are a couple of videos!

Startbox! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-15dXESRJm4

Indian Village with the corner: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HquVe9I6Ocw

We had now moved up to 9th and had Saturday off to watch some amazing 3* riders and enjoy being on the grounds.

And then show jump on Sunday. Warm up was ok and I had walked the course the night before and had a solid plan. Lots and lots of rails were dropping , but it still looked like a fun course to me.

So, we trotted into the arena, halted, saluted and then I forgot every single thing I had planned. No, really. I couldn’t even remember getting to the first jump. I do remember thinking at the last jump “What are my legs doing way back there?” So, basically Georgie carried my butt around and I just steered. And somehow we only knocked two rails. I deserved to knock all the rails.

What I learned was this:

1) Have caffeine before your show jump ride so you are not groggy for jumping after a week of very little sleep.

2) Do not enter the arena without a plan in your head at that moment. Stick to that plan. Ride that plan.

3) ATTACK the first jump and set the pace for the rest of the course.

4) RIDE EVERY JUMP

5) Wear your sunglasses even if it is cloudy. Your eyes are sensitive and squinting gives you a headache.

6) You need to bring your 50% or next time your horse won’t bring hers.

Needless to say, I was NOT happy. I think it was the worst round I have ever had. But, somehow, people had more rails than us and we moved into 5th place.

5th place for our first time at Rebecca.

 am not in the picture because I only showed up for 2 of the 3 phases, but Georgie definitely deserved this ribbon.

I am not in the picture because I only showed up for 2 of the 3 phases, but Georgie definitely deserved this ribbon.

This event is revered and talked about for a reason. It’s incredibly well organized, absolutely beautiful, and so much fun. It’s low key but hardcore. The xc is safe, fun, but a bit challenging. Its a great mix of competitive spirit and remembering to sit back and enjoy the view.

I’ll definitely be returning, hopefully for the Training 3 Day. If you get the chance, it’s certainly an event that is worth the visit!

Stella was an amazing show dog as well as copilot on the way home.

Stella was an amazing show dog as well as copilot on the way home.

Georgie and I have qualified for AECs I believe but we won’t be traveling to Texas. Instead, we’ll be heading to Temecula in October where we hope to do our first Training 3 Day at Galway Downs. And I plan to show up for all 3 phases of the event.

xoxo

Nadia and Georgie

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Rebecca Recap

  1. So happy for you!! Glad you have a real partnership with Georgie so you guys can pick slack up for each other occasionally. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nadsnovik says:

    Ha ha, yeah one of us more than the other…

    Like

  3. emma says:

    wooooo hooo so many congratulations!! sounds like y’all had a total blast!! and as someone who rides a mare that consistently goes above and beyond me in terms of effort and showmanship and professionalism… well, i relate. but you still deserve so much credit and should be proud!!

    Like

  4. draftmare says:

    With a ribbon that pretty I would be happy with fifth too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

