More Endurance Work

I’ve spent much of this week thinking about endurance day and how best to prep for it. Georgie is fit, but the T3D asks so much more of my horse than a regular horse trial. Sarah was amazing and used her math skills (which I lack) to help me figure out what my pace should be for the 4 sections of endurance day. I calculated a mile on my gps watch out a canyon that has lovely footing. Sarah helped me figure out how long it should take to do each section at the correct pace. 220 mpm, 520 mpm, 160 mpm and 470 mpm. I decided on Saturday to work on the mile at 220mpm and 470 mpm. The canyon road is a bit winding and all uphill, so I didn’t want to do 520 mpm just yet, until Georgie is in better shape and she stops spooking for the first part of the mile (which is super fun).

As was to be expected we were too fast for the 220 mpm pace and a bit too slow for the 470 mpm. I wasn’t shocked about the latter. Georgie was spooky and it was hard to get a rhythm for the first 1/4 mile, but I tried hard to gain time at the end. It was close, so I am not too stressed but next time I go out I have some ideas about how to better make time.

My dogs came along on my conditioning ride with me. Stella, who turned 12 on Saturday was leading the charge!

My dogs came along on my conditioning ride with me. Stella, who turned 12 on Saturday was leading the charge!

I need to keep in mind that endurance day involves more than a jog out and looking fashionable. Most importantly I need to have a fit and sound horse that is ready for all aspects of the T3D. I’m doing the jog not to show off my new boots, but to show off my horse. And I’m really excited about that. And realize I need to practice getting Georgie to jog…

I was lucky enough to petsit at a farm where Georgie could stay with me. It was fun having her there and she enjoyed it too!

I was lucky enough to petsit at a farm this week where Georgie could stay with me. It was fun having her there and she enjoyed it too!

As another part of preparing for the T3D I have a steeplechase lesson next week at a stable about 2.5 hours away where they have a track and a very experienced steeplechase instructor. I’m incredibly excited, but also nervous. I’ve never jumped steeplechase jumps and never jumped at 520 mpm so the entire experience will be eye opening. We watched some steeplechase instruction at Rebecca Farm and it was a huge help in what to expect, but I’ll be honest. The idea of just galloping up to a jump at 520 mpm and jumping out of stride is so completely out of my comfort zone. I’m thankful to have the opportunity to have this lesson and perhaps more if needed. I know I need to trust Georgie and enjoy the experience. it’ll be fun to report back to you.

So more work ahead, and hopefully I’ll continue to enjoy every minute of it!

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “More Endurance Work

  1. emma says:

    the steeplechase lesson sounds super exciting – can’t wait to read all about it! this level of conditioning is totally alien to me, and i have ZERO sense of how fast our different canters actually are at this point (partly bc i’ve never done a timed event). should probably start learning haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Idea: I will come take pictures of your steeplechase lesson.

    Because you need media and I need a life. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

