Steeplechase. The Best Thing Ever.

New favorite pic. Ever

New favorite pic. Ever

Ready for a media heavy post? Well, lets start by thanking SprinklerBandits
for that! I never imagined that the blogging community would create new friends for me, but it has! So thanks SprinklerBandits and I hope I can return the favor soon!

So, steeplechase lesson.

We started by galloping and getting to pace.

I was worried this could be a lesson in itself, but Georgie had zero problem galloping in an arena at 520 mpm. In fact it was really fun and we got faster with each lap until my instructor told me there was no need for me to faster…

wheee!

wheee!

So then we got to add a jump. My instructor was awesome btw. He broke things down for me and we always progressed safely and he had lots of feedback after each step.  The first jump didn’t go great. In typical Georgie/Nadia fashion she left long and I let her. And by long I mean she left like 3 strides out. Ok, maybe 1. But here we are in the air… Cause I am not posting the pic of us leaving long. It’s not a good thing to see 😉

Lippizzaner mode

Lippizaner mode

We got better after that,

Let's gallop to the bas of the jump, shall we?

Let’s gallop to the base of the jump, shall we?

and were able to progress to the track, and jump a larger jump. It was amazing. Can I say that? Jumping steeplechase jumps at 520mpm was a thrill. I cannot wait to actually do this at Galway. We have some things to work out and hopefully I can do some staged steeplechase at home. My position wasn’t exactly what my instructor wanted, and I need to work a little more to get Georgie balanced and uphill before the jump. Unfortunately she is not just naturally uphill, but it’s ok, she’s still amazing.

Over the blue barrels we go.

Over the blue barrels we go.

While it’s apparent I had a good time, I think Georgie had an almost better time than me.  She acted full of pep and was happy to gallop as fast as I liked. When we had to walk back to start line she got all sassy and wanted to trot. And this was after we had jumped and galloped about 6 times…

Instruction? I don't need no damn instruction! Let's get on with it!

Instruction? I don’t need no damn instruction! Let’s get on with it!

So, we weren’t perfect (either of us), but we both had a safe, fun, confidence boosting ride. I had been so worried I wouldn’t be able to gallop at 520 mpm. Or I would somehow royally mess it all up. And none of that happened.

The proof is in the pudding… or in this video…. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jLEDM-tWHGk

Instead, I made a friend, strengthened my bond with my horse, learned a lot and feel like all the time I dedicate to eventing is definitely worth it.

So, Go Eventing!

xoxo

Nadia and Georgie

Let's steeplechase!

Let’s steeplechase!

Tagged , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Steeplechase. The Best Thing Ever.

  1. emma says:

    omg that looks SO FUN!!! idk if i’m brave enough to jump at that speed haha (esp over jumps that size!) but you guys look fantastic. sounds like an awesome lesson and prep for galway!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you had fun! It was a total blast to watch. You guys are such a great team.

    (And I have met some really great people through blogging. It’s fun!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nbohl says:

    Looks like a BLAST!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KateRose says:

    Those are amazing pics! Looks like soooo much fun 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

