Dressage. Not As Exciting as Steeplechase

So a few days after my steeplechase lesson Sarah asked me if I had come down off of my high. What a silly question! Of course not! But I guess it didn’t matter, we still had to practice dressage and there was an upcoming schooling show we’d be attending so we could practice in the big sandbox.

Yay canter work in front of the judge!

Yay canter work in front of the judge!

A couple of things about the Training 3 Day dressage test that are important to know.

  1. The trot work is all sitting except for the trot lengthening and the 20 meter stretchy/chewy circle (I have NO idea if everyone calls it a stretchy/chewy circle or if that’s just a my barn thing???)
  2. You have ten meter circles.
  3. You perform a leg yield in each direction.
  4. It is done in the large arena ( duh…)

A couple of things that are important to know about Georgie and I in relation to the above stated facts

  1. Oof. Sitting trot. My back can handle it! Yay! But it’s not that cool.
  2. Ten meter circles are not our favorite thing.
  3. We can’t leg yield to the left. Mostly my fault.
  4. Where is there ever a large arena to practice in??

So, we went off to the show to see how it would go. Shockingly, it went ok! The good new is, we didn’t encounter any new mind blowing problems AND we scored a 9 on our stretchy/chewy circle.

When I am cut out of the halt at C it actually looks ok...

When I am cut out of the halt at C it actually looks ok…

We have a lot to work on still, but I was really pleased with how my second time ever riding in a large arena went. And Georgie was great. I’m so in love with her lately.

I promised her some time out of dressage tack so on Sunday we did some conditioning and exploring out one of the canyons nearby. While it was a lot of hard work, Georgie lives for getting out of the arena and we always have a good time.

She's ready to go!

She’s ready to go!

Oh, and in other exciting news my check was cashed for the Galway show!!! I cannot tell you how exciting it was to have that check clear! I can now stop stressing that they didn’t receive my entry and start stressing about something more productive. Like 10 meter circles.

xoxo

Nadia and Georgie

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Dressage. Not As Exciting as Steeplechase

  1. emma says:

    i love Georgie’s expression in those video stills from the show – she looks so focused but still soft. congrats on that 9!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I say stretchy circle. And if you want to practice in the large arena, haha, try living at a dressage barn. We have one set up most of the time (though my geometry is still a work in progress… sigh…)

    Glad the show went well. 🙂 9 is fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nadsnovik says:

    OMG i am so jealous you have such easy access to a large arena.
    9 was exciting! And an anomaly

    Like

  4. draftmare says:

    It is not as exciting, but it sure does make the other fun things easier!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

