East Coast Recap and Looking to the West Coast

I’ve just gotten back from a great trip visiting family and friends back east. My trips back always involve lots of traveling in order to visit as many people as possible and I am glad I took a full week to do so this time.

I got to spend some time with my retired horse Dublin, who Sarah and I drove back to my family farm July of 2014 after he re-injured himself and was no longer sound to ride at all. Dublin had never been completely sound when I had him. He couldn’t jump, but we could do lots and lots of trail riding. He’s a large Irish Sport Horse and has made me fall head over heels in love with that breed. He’s 21 years old now, so I’m not sure they make them like they used to, but I’m hopeful I’ll have horse just like him (but sound) one day in my future.

Looking good at 21!

Looking good at 21!

IMG_0262

He enjoyed the grooming session

Dublin’s girlfriend is Priscilla.

Kisses in the pasture

Kisses in the pasture

She is an enormous Haflinger/Belgian/something. Verdicts out as to whether she is an overgrown Haflinger or an undergrown Belgian. She has the waistline of a Belgian with the legs of a Haflinger. And trust me, we all know she is grossly obese. But my Dad refuses to go the grazing muzzle route and she’s been doing well looking like this for 6 years.. so it’s tough to argue with him. She was given to him when her owner was diagnosed with brain cancer. People (including me!) seem to know my Dad will take in the old unwanted horses and give them a pretty great life. I’m lucky to have him as a role model for how to treat animals.

It was great to be back on the farm and enjoy the beautiful countryside where I grew up. Millbrook NY is known for fox hunting, eventing, jumpers and pretty much everything equestrian, and every time I go back I pine for galloping for hours, jumping coops between the fields.

So pretty and vastly different than Idaho

So pretty and vastly different than Idaho

I’ve been back in Idaho about 3 hours and have already been out to visit my girl Georgie and get a short ride in. Only 2 more lessons until Galway! We have a local jumper show this weekend and then I’ll get to the task of packing and organizing.

I’m officially entered and therefore officially VERY excited.

xoxo

Nadia and Georgie

IMG_0267

One more pic. Because he is so handsome. And I miss him.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “East Coast Recap and Looking to the West Coast

  1. Coast-to-coast in under a week. I’m impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emma says:

    oooh Dublin is gorgeous! and omg the countdown for galway is already upon us, isn’t it! super excited for you!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

