Galway Downs: It’s Happening

We’ve arrived at Galway! Georgie travelled great, but it’s a 14 hour trip so we were all happy when we finally arrived.

 

Stella and. i started taking selfies about 7 hours in. Dont worry neither of us were driving

 
We spent the night in Vegas and it’s amazing how hard it is to let loose in Sin City when your horse is waiting for you back at stabling, so I did not have a wild and crazy night.

Galway is beautiful. The facility is a TB training track which has grown over the years and now has lots of event trainers and jump trainers renting barns at the facility. 

  There was literally no one else in my row for about 48 hours, so we got our purple out and felt at home.
 

As 3 Day competitors we got this awesome stall card

 
I rode Georgie yesterday evening and she was quite high. But she regained her brain after a couple laps around the track and we had a nice dressage school. Today we had a lesson and it went pretty well. I mean, trainer Sarah said something was 4000 times better than it used to be. Neither of us can remember what it was that was better now that we have had a couple of beers, but it was something, which is all that matters.  Anyway, she commented on how much I have improved since Rebecca even, and honestly, I think that’s the nicest thing anyone can say to me because I’ve been working my ass off. So,no matter what the dressage judge thinks on Thursday, I know we are on the right track.

  
Sarah helped me get Georgie clipped to perfection and we spent the rest of the day running errands, walking Georgie and Stella and preparing for the rest of the week. This is definitely the calm before the storm as tomorrow I have stuff going on until about 6:30pm when it gets dark! 

I showered today since it wasnt looking promising for tomorrow

 
I’m honestly not complaining though. I’m going to learn so much and have so much fun!

Hopefully tonight Stella will give me more room on the bed so I can be well rested…

  
Because I am sure future posts will be all about my rides I want to use this post to publicly thank my friend and trainer Sarah who took me all the way to California, all by myself, because she knew how important the 3Day was to me. She’s listened to me give minute by minute updates on Georgie (I can see her stall from my bed in the trailer) let me ask 100 million questions,  let me bring Stella and indulged me when I speak as my dog. I’m lucky to have such a good friend and I hope I make her proud this weekend with my poise,professionalism and kick ass attitude.

Here’s to some major fun in my future.

Xoxo

Nadia and Georgie

4 thoughts on “Galway Downs: It’s Happening

  1. emma says:

    haha i love that your ‘to-do’ list includes both ‘shower?’ and ‘GALLOP FAST’!!!!! glad you arrived safely and are settling in well. good luck with all the little last minute prep and don’t forget to keep us updated!!!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So excited for you guys this weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

