Dressage and the jog out

Wow. What a week! I’m heading home and trying to process all that happened. I guess we start with dressage..

Georgie was a good girl, it definitely wasn’t out best ride, but it wasn’t bad. Warm up was in a small dressage arena with about 5-6 riders and in very non typical fashion I had to scream at a rider who almost ran into me twice. So it wasn’t exactly calm and relaxed, at least for me. 

In the test our halts were bad. Our leg yields were ok. Our trot lengthens were fast and not lengthens. Our canter transitions rocked. During a canter lengthen what sounded like two gunshots went off. (It was the loudspeakers popping). Georgie handled it so well- she came above the vertical for two strides and then acted like nothing happened. I kept my composure as well and actually grinned and got back to work. 

 

so much muscle


We were 10th after dressage which I thought was fair. I know we could do better  so was happy we hadn’t placed lower in the pack. 

 

Post dressage it was good to get dirty again

 
Prior to dressage we had a jog out. Georgie has never been so clean and well groomed in her life. She hated it and was bored by the entire experience. It was fun to dress up and present her but also really stressful. She didn’t exactly want to trot forward and while I know she’s sound the vet doesn’t.

 Love my shiny mare!  

Lots of practicing…

Georgie was accepted and we could get ready for dressage that afternoon. I was last to go in the  entire 3Day division which was annoying but worked out ok because things weren’t as busy by the time I arrived (vet box and warm up) but it was tough to wait around all day and then ride. 
So, more later on the rest of the competition but let’s just say xc was a BLAST and I now think everyone should do a traditional format event!

6 thoughts on “Dressage and the jog out

  1. draftmare says:

    Had a rider like that at my last show. I yelled at her and then she was a total witch yelling “coming through” any time she got near another horse for the rest of the warm-up. Wanted to slap her. Oh well. Glad you had fun! Can’t wait for the rest of the recap.

    Like

  2. emma says:

    so i mayyyyy or may not have been stalking you on live scoring – congratulations!!!! sounds like dressage went pretty well (despite the weird warm up situation?), and i LOVE your jog out boots! can’t wait to hear the rest of the details 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So thrilled for you!! What a great experience.

    PS come back to town and play!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

