Blog Hop! My 5 Show Essentials

Since Georgie is still on vacation, a bloghop from Amanda over at The $900 Facebook Pony seemed like a perfect idea!

bloghoplogo

She asked us to post our 5 Essential Show Items. This is beyond the horse and tack, and more those other items you can’t do without. So here I go!

  1. Beer Margaritas

Have you had these before? When I first heard about them I wrinkled my nose in disgust. And then I tried it. And now it is first on my list of essentials. There is NOTHING better at a hot show when you’re done for the day and able to start drinking. A lot. They are a combo of tequila,beer and lime juice. DON’T wrinkle your nose. Its amazing and refreshing.

Rolling Rock is a key ingredient

Rolling Rock is a key ingredient

2. Lucky Socks

Now that I’ve got my drinks covered I can worry about other things. Like what socks I am going to wear for each phase. My dressage socks have changed over time, but my xc socks have never changed. They were given to me as a gift and are Rolex Kentucky knee socks with 4 stars on the toes. They’re kinda dirt stained and gross at this point so no pic, but this is how I feel when I am wearing them:

Kieffer_laure_V1-370x231

While my dressage and SJ socks have changed over time, please know I strategically choose them and why I am wearing them. At Galway I wore a pair of monkey themed socks for SJ. The thought behind them was that I needed to keep a sense of humor and not take things so seriously. And the socks helped me do that. When I pack for a show, my socks get a lot of thought and are definitely essential to a good weekend.

3. Purple

I’m getting more and more obnoxious about the purple. Purple stall guards, purple trunk, purple electrical tape for boots, purple safety vest, are you getting the idea? The more purple the better. And yes, I am an adult. But I DON’T CARE. Purple stuff makes me happy.

Georgie tries to hide the purple under shavings but it doesn't work!!

Georgie tries to hide the purple under shavings but it doesn’t work!!

It’s ridiculous, and not all the purple is exactly the same, but I am working on it. I promise.

4 Friends!

What’s an event without a support crew? Or people who understand your love of purple? Or maybe someone who understands that another beer margarita is a good idea? I haven’t gone to a recognized event on my own yet.. and I really consider myself lucky that I always have fun friends to share this experience with!

Even Georgie appreciates having friends around. Mine are just a tad crazier than hers..

Even Georgie appreciates having friends around. Mine are just a tad crazier than hers..

And I must say, that my dog Stella is one of my best friends, and having her at shows seems essential as well,as I love running the xc course with her, and cuddling at night while I think about the upcoming day. She’s pretty great.

And sometimes, on the drive home, she is super cute and makes me smile

And sometimes, on the drive home, she is super cute and makes me smile

5. Electrolytes

So, at the 3Day I was moderately obsessed with making sure Georgie was drinking enough. She had come from a winter/fall environment into a summer environment, and I knew she would be sweating a lot. I brought electrolyte paste but never had to use it, as the electrolytes I put in her grain were amazing. She was drinking almost two buckets of water between 9pm and 6am and more throughout the day. She was well hydrated and I feel that the new electrolytes I purchased really helped!

Bought through Smartpak. Loved by me and Georgie

Bought through Smartpak. Loved by me and Georgie

So, that’s it… Because I had to keep it to 5…. Can’t wait to see your essentials!

5 thoughts on “Blog Hop! My 5 Show Essentials

  1. Amanda C says:

    HA! I love all of these things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emma says:

    omg that pic of georgie covered in shavings is pretty epic – she literally coated every single inch!! and yea, beer margaritas ftw!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 1) That is the cutest picture of a dog EVER.

    2) PURPLE

    3) Let’s have beer margaritas together ok?

    Like

  4. Baby wipes are in my top 5! They are so versatile! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

