FLAIR Nasal Strips: A Review

I’m the first to admit that I’m not really a fan of the unnecessary. I like the look of an ear bonnet but seeing as they really serve no purpose, you’re not going to see Georgie in one. That’s why, when FLAIR was giving a talk about their nasal strips I signed up. What’s the deal with these things anyway?

So, it turns out that they’re more than just a cool thing you put on your horse’s nose! They have scientific proof that they help your horse breathe and reduce airway resistance. The vet giving the talk spoke about how in all studies where they have been used properly they improved airflow and essentially help keep nasal passages open helping your horse get the most oxygen possible. 

What I really liked was that they recommend using the strips any time your horse is exerting itself. So at any level, where your horse is galloping, the strip can help. 

I worried Georgie wouldn’t like the feel or it would be irritating to her. Lucky for me the rep came and actually put the strip on for me prior to going out on cross country. She showed me how to apply it and where to put it on so that it’s giving the maximum benefit. Georgie didn’t seem to care or notice the strip at all. 

Its hard to see, but its there!


Because there is science supporting this product and because after using it I felt it was not irritating or annoying to my horse it is definitely something I will use again. Do I think it made a huge difference? I can’t say. What I can say is Georgie was able to make time and gallop faster than we’ve gone before without a problem. I’m not sure if that is due to her fitness level or the fact that she’s getting more oxygen but either way something seemed to work.

I was lucky enough to win a FLAIR  strip at Rebecca so I plan on using one when I do another 3Day. And perhaps when I go for a regular horse trial as well. All in all I see no reason not to use the strips, I think it just comes down to a matter of purchasing one for every event.

Have any of you used them? Any negative feedback? Or positive thoughts? I’d love to hear it!
 

5 thoughts on “FLAIR Nasal Strips: A Review

  1. Amanda C says:

    Henry would curl up into a ball and die without his ear bonnet, but he can’t stand even the hint of a bug, strong wind, or rain touching his precious ears. Thanks for reviewing the Flair strips. I had kind of considered trying them if we do the N3D next year but wasn’t sure if it was pointless or not. Maybe I’ll try them out and see!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emma says:

    interesting! i’ve never tried one or seen anyone use them, but have been curious!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha yeah my series of overly sensitive princess OTTBs would beg to differ on your statement about ear bonnets doing nothing. 😉 Can’t ride without them in the summer.

    Fun fact: I also apparently can’t ride with them in the winter, because then the princess sweats under them and the itchyness is muy muy malo.

    Like

    • nadsnovik says:

      ok ok so you and Amanda have proven me wrong.. but don’t you think MOST people use them because they are pretty? My TBx is the opposite of sensitive so I guess I should consider myself lucky…

      Like

Leave a Reply

