Dressage TOC Recap

This morning Georgie and I attempted the Prelim A test at our barn’s schooling show.

First off, I just want to say I love Georgie. She didn’t put a foot out of place. We had a very short warm up and really couldn’t work on any movements because there were lots of people in the arena, so I figured we’d work it out in the test. In the test neither of us have done and is a bit of a challenge for us.

centerline

Headed down centerline. Look, you can tell where we are going because I am not looking down!!

Georgie was responsive and willing to everything I asked of her. I’ll be honest, I should have practiced my sitting trot more. I haven’t sat the trot since Galway, and this test has a lot of work in the  sitting trot, or at least it felt that way. I felt bad that my weakness was comprimising Georgie’s forward movement, but we’ll work on it.

Overall, our trot work was pretty good. The leg yields were ok. I could feel when she was leading with her haunches and tried to fix it as best I could. There was actually a lot I liked about the test, and a lot I am really excited to work on.

dressage TOC

I’m smiling! In a dressage test!

I will admit that I forgot the test. Both times I rode it.  So amateurish and so embarrassing, and not something I want to repeat. I did come into this show far more unprepared and casual than I usually do. We hadn’t been riding much, I learned the test as I was driving yesterday, and I showed up with very little time to groom and warm up. And what I realized is while I don’t miss the days of uber preparedness, I need to find a happy medium, because being uber casual also doesn’t work well for me. Especially when I am doing a challenging test for the first time.

trot TOC

Monkey claw hands. You can’t see them, but my instructor can. And now they haunt me.

When all was said and done, my response to “How’d it go?” was “It was super fun and challenging!” I really really really enjoy these harder movements and getting Georgie straight and balanced. It’s hard, but so much more satisfying than working on 20 meter circles and getting Georgie round, which I feel like we have been doing for the past 2 years.

Plus, I didn’t make a fool of myself! I know this because we came in 1st and 2nd in our division. Our scores were RIDICULOUSLY low (to the point where I asked the scorer if she made a mistake), and while I know I will not score that well at a recognized test, I also know the judge thought we were doing ok! Oh, and I was really proud of the 9 I scored on our halt. Not because halts are a new and difficult movement, but because at Galway I royally screwed them up and was worried I would screw them up forever. But, apparently, Georgie and I still know how to halt.

I’m looking forward to practice, practice practice and really improving on some of the things we struggle with. Oh, and jumping. I’m looking forward to taking a break from dressage and jumping again too.

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Dressage TOC Recap

  1. Sounds like a great outing! Congrats on the encouraging scores. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great work! Well done 🙂

    Like

  3. emma says:

    congrats – sounds like an awesome time! i know what you mean about trying to find the balance between uber-preparedness and being too casual… i just try to think of it in terms of setting myself up for success as much as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

