2016 Goals

Ok, holidays are over! Mostly. And Im back to blogging.

I went back east for Christmas and got to see Dublin. The east coast has had nothing but warm temps and rain,  or at least upstate NY where my family lives certainly has. Needless to say, Dublin is having a hard time being model ready.

dub dirty

Even Dublin was surprised by how dirty he was!

So, after a good grooming session with help from my SIL, we decided it was time to get some Christmas appropriate pics.

dublin

Yes, I am wearing a tshirt in December in upstate NY

Seeing Dublin always makes me happy. I’ll always be thankful to him for getting me back into riding seriously.

Ok, so I have to admit I don’t love setting goals. Things change, goals change, and what becomes important changes as well. But, reading all of your goals, I got inspired.

So, here are my goals for 2016!

  1. I put no credence in dressage scores. I’m sorry. But some of my best scores were for sub par tests. And best tests scored in the high 30s. It’s so subjective. Would I like to score in the 20s in a recognized show? Of course. But it’s not a goal. My goal is this: Look up during the entire test. Ride it with confidence and have it be well thought out and not rushed. That feeling, of coming out of the arena and thinking “wow, that was pretty great,” feels really good. But sadly, that’s only happened to me once. And I think we scored a 35. But it was still one of my best tests.
  2. End on my dressage score at the Training level and Training 3 Day. So… we as eventers can only do so much. We can’t have nicer movers than we have necessarily, but you know what we can do? We can have no more faults for the rest of the competition. This used to be easy for me at Novice. Kilkee, once she got used to Novice speed had no problems. But since I’ve started going Training with Georgie, I’ve only ended on my dressage score once. I typically have a rail, or two, in SJ. No more! It’s time to end with our faults in the dressage ring.
  3. So, that means I need to get more comfortable show jumping. I feel like Georgie and I have progressed, but I really want to work on giving her a great ride every time. So, better position, seeing my distances, and having a good, forward, ride. Georgie can get pretty lazy about lifting her legs over the jumps, but if I give her a good ride, I have a way better chance of not having a rail.
  4. Being happy about whatever happens. Not to be cheesy, but we are SO lucky we get to ride horses and compete in this crazy sport. At least, I feel lucky that I do. But sometimes I get bogged down with how I stack up to others, how my ride could have been better, or how I’ll never be as good as the really good riders. I need to let this go and concentrate on me and how much joy riding brings me. Ah, I can feel the stress leaving my neck and shoulders already.
    georgie

    I mean, come on? How could this face not make me happy??

     

So, I think that’s it. I don’t want to make “I’m going to go this level,” or “I want to be in the top five at every show” goals because those are so much harder for me to control and work at. I feel like the goals I’ve outlined I’m capable of and can achieve as long as I Georgie and I stay healthy.

I’m looking forward to the end of 2016 and seeing how I did!

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “2016 Goals

  1. draftmare says:

    That barn is stunning! I love old barns. Sounds like a good list of 2016 goals!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. julie m says:

    Hello there!! Totally digging goal #4, that’s pretty much my outlook on life with horses too

    Liked by 1 person

  3. T says:

    Excellent goals! Looking forward to following along in 2016 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KateRose says:

    Great goals! Love the Christmas pic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. emma says:

    great goals, and great attitude!! i’d like more of that feeling of leaving the dressage court knowing we did well, regardless of score too. oh, and more clear SJ rounds lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

