Fun Photoshoot

Christmas gifts are something I really enjoy giving. I like thinking about what the person would enjoy or needs, but doesn’t realize they need or would enjoy.  But this year, with two of my closest friends, I got a little selfish.  I decided to have a photo shoot with us and our horses. Because who doesn’t want a professional looking photo with their horses and their besties?

My hope was that my friends would realize this was the greatest idea and be super excited. They weren’t. But they were good sports, got their horses ready and we all got together for the magical photo shoot.

But here’s the thing I hadn’t taken into account. We have 4 mares among the three of us, Georgie is a bitch, Sarah’s mare is a bitch, and Meg’s mare acts sweet until she isn’t. Plus, horses aren’t like dogs. A squeeky toy isn’t going to get them to look at the camera with their ears forward. So, the group photo was more of a shit show than anything else. Within the first 3 minutes I almost got kicked by my own horse and we decided this wasn’t going to work.

grup

Let’s test our friendship by doing a group photo! You’ll notice its the chestnut gelding that is the only one that looks remotely happy.

(Please note that many of these photos have not been edited, but Bekka, my amazing friend and photographer, was kind enough to let me use them for this blog.)

Luckily, Bekka was more than happy to get some individual photos of us. And even offered to photoshop the group photos later on to make it look like it was a happy, stress free experience.

The individual pics she got of Georgie and I have been printed and framed, they are so great and make me really happy! Plus, I printed out a bunch for my friends too and framed them as gifts. Sure, it wasn’t the group photo I was hoping for, but in the end, my friends seemed as happy as I was that we got some great pics with our horses!

lie georgie

Love her! And this pic!

ha ha

And Bekka got a couple bloopers too. This is probably right after she tried to kick the mare next to her and almost got me instead.

 

And then there was this magical picture. I’m not sure what I was looking at, but the picture makes me really,really happy, and I am so glad Bekka got this one of us.

georgie look

Happiness

 

So, thanks to Bekka, whose photographs you can check out here:Bekka’s website  and to my friends Sarah and Meghan for having fun with me and our horses and letting me give them a gift I hope they enjoyed and didn’t realize they needed!

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Fun Photoshoot

  1. draftmare says:

    At least the individual phots turned out well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BHIB and Tom says:

    Fun shots! I especially like the bareback shot. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KateRose says:

    Love the bareback shot! Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful pictures!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. emma says:

    aww these are so sweet!!!! they turned out really well (i kinda love the blooper pic too haha) and relate so hard to having the ‘mare’ in the group who never wants to wear her ears forward when a camera comes out… lol

    Liked by 1 person

  6. WolfSong says:

    Great shots! 🙂
    Mint tins (with mints inside) and grain buckets in the hands of a photographer’s helper are your friends for getting ears forward shots.
    And, truth be told, a squeeky toy *does* sometimes work…so long as no one is flighty. lol

    Like

    • nadsnovik says:

      So mint tins- just shake the tins? Interesting! Thanks for the hints! I think it was ore too many mares too close to each other, but good to know for next time!

      Like

      • WolfSong says:

        Yup, just a little shake to get their attention, and a fast finger on the camera button.
        Yeah, mares can be a challenge. lol But that’s part of the fun of them too. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

