Getting to Work

Maybe it’s an age thing, or maybe it’s all the technology in our lives now, but sometimes I get to my lessons and have zero focus and have to literally think “Nadia, you need to actually RIDE. Not just sit here.” Do any of you struggle with this? I literally walked into today’s lesson all scatter brained and had to give myself a pep talk of sorts to actually ride, and not just sit there letting Georgie do whatever Georgie wants.

In Tuesday’s lesson I got right to work. And not surprisingly my trainer didn’t have a lot to say. Things looked good. We got to start working on counter canter. (Which is HARD and AMAZING and I can’t wait to keep working on it).

 

But today I just couldn’t focus and work. Please tell me some of you struggle with this?

Today’s lesson was a tough jump lesson. There were three poles on either end of the arena set up in a fan. The inside of the poles measured 9ft between poles and the outside was 11ft between poles. In the middle of the arena there was a going 2 stride and a calm,collected 3 stride. Do you see where I am going with this?

We had to canter through the outside line of poles on an 11 foot stride and then to the going 2 stride. Then, come to the inside of the poles on a more collected 9ft stride and through the 3 stride.

The hardest part for me was seeing my line through the poles. It sounds ridiculous maybe, but I couldn’t figure out the angle through the poles. And all I wanted to do was look down at the poles and my line through them. But, once I got on the correct line and looked up, it didn’t go that badly.

 

There’s a chance that in a couple weeks we will head to Utah for a couple of days to do some xc schooling. Georgie and I are desperate to get outside and she is ready to gallop. While show season is beginning in other parts of the country, we’re about two months behind and just excited that our outdoor arena is almost totally snow free. Ah, Idaho.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Getting to Work

  1. emma says:

    oooh i love that jump exercise and definitely want to steal it haha (tho perhaps with a slightly easier ground pole configuration lol). counter canter looks great too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KateRose says:

    I hear you about a long winter (and a late show season), same in Alberta/Canada. Hope you get out for a cross country school/gallop soon. I agree with Emma – the counter canter looks awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

