Something a Bit Different

I’m on the board of a local horse park we are trying to create in our community and needed to get some pictures of our brand new obstacle course. 

So… I asked Sarah if she wanted to get her baby out and join me for some media gathering. She was totally game!

As we went to leave a wind storm picked up and we were pretty sure we might get swept away into the clouds. You know it’s bad when your friend from Kansas says “this is tornado weather.” By some miracle, by the time we pulled into the park,the weather was slightly cool, but not trailer flying into the sky feeling…

Photogenic Baby


We played around on the xc course a bit- mainly babysitting over a couple logs and letting the baby go off and canter by herself. Georgie was a good girl and remained relaxed despite the fact that I could feel her desperate need to gallop.

The obstacle course was SO cool. There were tons of different obstacles, some straightforward and simple and others quite challenging. 

Off set logs. AKA natural cavaletti

Perhaps I am a bit dim, but I wasn’t prepared for obstacles to move when we got on them. There was a swinging bridge AND a bridge on rollers. Georgie was amazing as we both found out the scary bridge moved as we were in the middle of it and when I totally froze and offered no support, she was like “I got this mom. Again…”

Baby horse was amazing too. She of course looked incredibly elegant over all the obstacles and Georgie and I were pretty jealous. 

We got over all obstacles and it was a lot of fun. Plus I got some great media for our website and Facebook page (check out Winter Sun Horse Park in Bellevue Idaho!) 

I always enjoy doing something new and different with Georgie. I think it’s good for her brain, and mine and while I’ll always be an Eventer at heart…I can also enjoy a good obstacle horse!

5 thoughts on “Something a Bit Different

  1. BHIB and Tom says:

    Great shots! I think you’re well on your way to becoming a very popular place. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma says:

    That looks like so much fun!! I’ve always wanted to try something like that with my mare too. She’s pretty good about the two or three random obstacles we have in our woods but a legit course would be a neat challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. draftmare says:

    Oh how I wish grays would stay that dark gray color! That looks like a really cool course!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey that is really cool, and looks fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

