Show Jumping at a Standstill

Oh, show jumping.

I said to my trainer the following statements this past Sunday at our local jumper show:

“Ok, here’s my plan. Keep Georgie in an uphill frame while still going forward and not lacking impulsion.” Before my first round.

” I need to feel more comfortable show jumping.” After my second round.

“I hate show jumping.” At the end of the day.

I envy those of you who grew up doing Hunter/Jumpers. Or had any formal show jumping experience. I grew up foxhunting and hunter pacing, which was AMAZING, but makes me far more comfortable xc jumping, and didn’t give me a great base for what to do in an arena.

FullSizeRender (1)

We do know how to color coordinate

And while I will stick to my first two comments, I will retract the third. I don’t hate show jumping. I don’t LOVE it. Which is weird, because I love dressage and love cross country jumping, so why don’t I love show jumping? Probably because of statement number two. I don’t feel comfortable doing it.

Which has been the same thing I have been saying for a year. Jumping the same height. Which is really frustrating and annoying. It has nothing to do with jump height. I would have happily jumped 3’6. But it wouldn’t have been fair to Georgie to jump 3’6 when I can’t even get 3’3 right.

FullSizeRender

First jump on course. Georgie is about to hit the rail. Why? Look at my leg!

I need to be a quicker thinker and more effective rider. Georgie has so much heart. But she isn’t exactly dying to go jump around stadium either. It’s a completely different ride than out on xc. I let her get behind the leg, veer through corners, and I don’t do anything about it. Until my third round. The third round I meant business. And it went much better.

So here’s to practice practice practice. Feeling comfortable at what pace we need to achieve a 12ft stride. Figuring out how to keep Georgie uphill and forward. Homework. Lots and lots of homework.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Show Jumping at a Standstill

  1. BHIB and Tom says:

    Hang in there! You’ll make it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma says:

    Homework homework homework…. Ugh. I’m right there with ya. Sorry it wasn’t the greatest show but I’m glad you don’t hate show jumping! I definitely don’t hate it – maybe I actually really would enjoy it. Except I’m freakin terrible at it lol…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Uh well if it makes you feel better, I have all the same problems at 2′, so at least you’re doing it on a cooler scale.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. draftmare says:

    I think I would be the opposite, I would love SJ and dressage, but really get butterflies about XC. ‘Course I am barely making it around 2 foot jumps with Sydney, even though she has all the talent in the world to go higher.

    Like

Leave a Reply

