Maybe We Can Do This

I want to start by saying that I’m a rider who likes to ride. I don’t have my trainer ride my horse for me often, and while Sarah sometimes rides Georgie in our lessons, there is usually a schooling reason for it.

In yesterday’s lesson I thought we could maybe have some fun with Sarah riding Georgie. I asked her to hop on her so I could video her jumping a single fence. We’d then video me doing the same fence, and hopefully with a little compare and contrast I could see what she was doing well and what I wasn’t doing. I’m a visual learner so I hoped this could be really helpful. And it was.

Sarah had a quick warm up on Georgie and towards the end of it I saw her ask Georgie for a bigger step while still remaining balanced and uphill. When Sarah asked, Georgie easily moved into the bigger step and nothing else changed. Sarah was elated, I was over the moon and Sarah commented that Georgie had never done that so easily before. Progress!

Sarah did some collected canter work and Georgie looked great. Strong and just really easily getting around on a short, collected step. She then approached the jump on a “moderate” step, which is the pace I like, and then a bigger step. It’s a bit out of my comfort zone, this big, forward step, but Sarah kept Georgie balanced and uphill and it looked beautiful.

IMG_1620

Trying to emulate the ride Sarah gave her

Georgie was also incredibly adjustable. When Sarah saw her distance was off (and I saw it too, yay!) she changed the step and Georgie was able to change immediately and make it work.

It was so fun to watch.

But then I had to hop on. And I wasn’t sure I could replicate what I just saw.

We started with canter work on the flat. Getting those three different steps. Collected canter work was fun. But then I had to get up into jump position and not let Georgie fall on the forehand and get strung out.

IMG_1619

Pretty pony trying hard

At one point I was getting it, but my quads were burning and my hands didn’t want to behave. I worked harder and it actually went pretty well. Sarah gave me a short break and now we had to do that over a 3′ jump.

Here’s the recap. I rode Georgie in that uphill frame. I wasn’t on as big a step as Sarah wanted BUT I knew it, and changed it the second time around AND I never lost contact with Georgie the entire time. No loop in my rein, no jumping ahead.

When I asked for the bigger step the second time, it was great! We quickly realized that I forget everything on the backside though and Georgie immediately falls on the forehand, so if we were in a combination it would have not been  great. So, I learned I need to ride the backside as well as I am riding to the jump. Because that isn’t obvious and hasn’t been told  to someone who has been doing this as long as I have. Grr.

IMG_1617

It’s blurry because we are going so fast. And I swear my horse isn’t sweating brown sweat. Ok. Maybe she is. So gross

The ride was a huge aha moment for me and what Georgie and I are capable of. We have lots of homework. And don’t think I am fooling myself. I can ride this well over one jump. I have no grand ideas that I can ride this well in a stadium course. Yet. Will it be magical for our event in three weeks? Probably not. But at least now I’ve got some tools to play with. And, hopefully, by the time we get to Rebecca Farm for the 3day in July, we will look like a competent show jumping pair for the entire course.

Oh, and Sarah obviously rode the jump much better, but I’ve posted the videos for a little compare and contrast. My jump video is a bit longer as we do some flat work first, but I think it is fun to watch. And I left the audio because I think what Sarah says is important and good to hear. 🙂

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Maybe We Can Do This

  1. shelbyrallen says:

    Awesome! such a cute mover – and getting a little strung out on the landing side of a fence is one of my specialties, so hard to fix especially when you’re concentrating so much on the prep before the jump.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love to do 50/50 trainer rides and lessons–not only does it let me see my horse go and figure out how we look (on a good day, lol) but also it lets my trainer look for any holes I might be oblivious to because I sit on them every day. If that makes sense. Super excited for you guys!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. carey says:

    Great idea to get trainer video and you video to compare! Georgie is the cutest 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Emma says:

    That’s such an awesome comparison. I’ve only seen my horse go with a pro once before and it was kinda wild seeing how easily he could move her from collected to forward and back again, perfectly balanced the whole time… Maybe one day? Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. When I spent the summer up at Denny Emerson’s two years ago, most of the focus in our jump sets was on creating an adjustable canter (with the goal being to maintain the “middle canter” most of the time, and then KNOWING reliably when you are three strides out so you can adjust if needed. I am sure if you keep practicing this you are going to find a whole new level in your communication!

    Like

  6. KateRose says:

    What a cool idea! I’m going to try this sometime soon with my coach. I think you both look great! Very jealous of your steady lower leg. Mine has left the building lately for some reason!

    Like

Leave a Reply

