3Day Ready

Today I spent Independence Day the best way I knew how. I skipped the local parade and headed out for a conditioning ride with Georgie. We went 11km in an hour. Mostly trotting, with some canter, and about 10-12 minutes of walk total. I wanted to make sure we were both ready for the approximately 48 minutes we would be spending in the saddle together on xc day at Rebecca Farm in two and a half weeks. I would say that we are officially 3Day ready!

IMG_0028This coming weekend we have a clinic with Brian Sabo. I’m really excited but also a bit nervous. I have heard great things about Brian, and how he’s a great clinician. But I am in a clinic group with two professionals, (1 being my coach) and it’ll be easy to call me out and make me the example of how not to ride. On the other hand, it’s an opportunity for me to rise to the occasion and get some great instruction.

And afterwards, when it’s all said and done, we have a derby on Sunday, and I get to be the xc controller. All this really means is that I make sure jumps are set properly, help jump judges with questions and maybe get to ride around on a four wheeler. But, the title has the word controller. So, needless to say, I am a LITTLE excited.

controlling

 

And before all this fun can happen, my little monkey dog, Stella, has to have ACL surgery. It’s scheduled for July 7. She’s 12 years old, (but no one believes me when I tell them) so I’m pretty stressed. And ready to see her post surgery, as she tries to drag me to the car and get the hell out of there. So, think good thoughts for her and I can’t wait to update you on how well she’s doing!

12307994_10153351644973251_6067324955690778585_o

 

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “3Day Ready

  1. Emma says:

    Aw poor pup, hope the surgery goes smoothly! Also, that meme is me to a T haha. Good luck with the clinic too. Hopefully he picks on the pros and not you lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Best of luck to Stella! And have fun at the clinic!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Clinic sounds awesome! Wish I could be there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shelbyrallen says:

    Aw love of love to Stella. Good luck with the clinic! Brian is hilarious, you should love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. carey says:

    Have fun at the clinic!
    My Thule dog had ACL surgery in November. The first couple days were tough, she was clearly still drugged and not her self, but she handled the recovery really well and is back to her fully active self. Good luck to Stella!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sending good thought to Stella for tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

