Rebecca Recap Finale

I would like to officially exorcise my stadium jumping demons. In the past I have made comments like “I hate stadium jumping.” “I don’t feel comfortable stadium jumping.” And other stupid crap that I need to let go.

Because here’s the thing. In both my rounds at Inavale and Rebecca I found myself thinking “This is kind of fun.” WHILE I was doing it. What the what?

While neither round was perfect, they weren’t bad or scary either. I have realized Georgie needs a near perfect ride in order to not hit rails. At Rebecca, we had two rails. And the first thing I said to my trainer as I came out of the ring was “I know exactly what I did wrong!” And I was weirdly excited about that knowledge.

IMG_1921

We also had our second jog that morning which we obviously passed!

At jump 7 A/B I didn’t think about my position through the two stride. I moved a bit and didn’t keep consistent contact. At jump 9A/B Georgie was well on the forehand and I didn’t bring her up prior to approaching the jump. And isn’t knowledge half the battle?

While it is a bit annoying that Georgie isn’t tidy with her feet, I will take a competent/relaxed dressage horse and cross country machine over a tidy SJ horse any day. Sure, I will have to continue to work hard and really get good at SJ, but that’s ok.

While there were lots of rails in the entire division, having two dropped us from 2nd to 6th. I was bummed for a moment (mainly because there were cash prizes for top three competitors) but I was weirdly ok with 6th. In a tough division of 25, not being in the middle of the pack was a huge feat. And while it would have been lovely to have had a clear round, Georgie and I have only done that once, in our 3 years together. But now, we are actually a team out there. Our rides are so much better! So, that seems like a bigger victory to me.

In case you’d like to watch the video:

Georgie and I still got a big fat ribbon and to participate in the victory gallop, so it was all good.

By the end of the weekend I was exhausted. But so happy to have been able to spend so much time with my two favorite four legged companions as well as my incredible two legged friends. Also, check out that beautiful Dark Jewel Designs browband. I had one for SJ and one for dressage and I am in LOVE with them!! That will be another post…

13729072_10153863105188251_2827591802976668088_n

They even kinda like each other

I’ve been holding out for this show, and seeing how it went, to make it blog official that Georgie and I are hopefully making the move up to Prelim next spring. She’s ready, but I want to make sure we’re equally ready as a team. I’ve asked my trainer to give her her first ride at Prelim so she can have a safe, confidence building ride. She plans on taking her to an event in October, and I am SO excited. Then, hopefully, if I keep working hard, Georgie and I will tackle Prelim together in May. This is a HUGE move up for me and I am taking it incredibly seriously. If I do anything to injure this incredible horse I’ll never forgive myself, so I want to not only “be able” to go Prelim, but to be a competent, capable pair from the get go. So, lots of excitement and LOTS to work on!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Rebecca Recap Finale

  1. APitts says:

    Congratulations on an amazing outing, and a fabulous finish in a big division! I stalked scores all weekend ;). The browband looks great too! And a planned move up, how exciting!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Big congratulations on it all. Hard work. Big goals. It’s always so exciting when things go well, and in the RIGHT Direction! It’s inspiring to read, and I take it as proof that things can and DO go well when the right amount of preparation is there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amanda C says:

    Congrats! And you have big lady balls for the Prelim move up (although it definitely looks like you guys are ready) … I can’t fathom jumping some of that crap!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shelbyrallen says:

    Yay yay yay! All awesome things 🙂 And knowledge is half the battle, so I can’t wait to see you guys nail a clear SJ soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations!! What an exciting plan for the move up!

    Like

  6. T says:

    We were there and saw your show jumping…thought you looked familiar, but couldn’t place it or I would have cheered louder 🙂 Just wanted to say the people sitting near us LOVED the pair of you and our whole little section was cheering for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • nadsnovik says:

      Aww!!! That’s so nice! Thanks so much for telling me!!! It’s crazy how many people from the blogging community saw us! Which I could have kept the rails up for them!

      Like

  7. carey says:

    Nice job!!! Great ride 🙂
    Have you thought about getting a belly guard for her? My trainer feels that horses who have them don’t hesitate to bring their knees up since they have protection. I don’t know how true this is, but all his horses always go in belly guards, and since putting Cosmo in one, he does have a couple scratches on it (he is not super tidy with his knees usually so I never thought he needed one). Just something I didn’t really think about that way until he said it to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Emma says:

    WOOO way to go!!! I’m so happy for you guys!! 😀 can’t wait to go back and catch up on the rest of the details haha. And yea I would say that 6th at Rebecca is well worth celebrating!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Tracy - Fly On Over says:

    Oh my gosh, how amazing!! CONGRATULATIONS!!! What a huge accomplishment that you should be extremely proud of ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

