How I Fell For Bling

I’ve been quite adamant about how I don’t like bling. I thought my dressage bridle with some silver piping was flashy enough. It’s not that I don’t like the look of blinged out browbands, they just weren’t for me.

Or so I thought.

And then people started posting about Dark Jewel Designs and showing off their new browbands.  And I started to reconsider my stance. 

I’ll admit that I contacted Amelia once and backed out. But when I contacted her again, this spring, she kindly walked me through the process yet again. She was incredibly helpful and timely. Plus, you can’t beat the price! Two custom browbands for $50?? Incredible!

My new love


I decided I wanted a browband for my jog at Rebecca. There was a purple one I had seen her make for someone else that I had been coveting ever since. 

So pretty on grey mare. And dont worry I straightened the noseband


And, for my second strand I decided on something less flashy and colorful, something I could use for stadium jumping. 

This was a custom one thats perfect for SJ

So pretty with a ribbon


Georgie was way more excited about it than she is indicating in the picture. She just hates ribbons on her pretty bridle.

So here is where things get crazy. The mailing address for Dark Jewel Designs is in Albany,NY. I mentioned that I grew up about an hour from Albany in a town called Ancramdale. It’s a TINY cow town, but maybe Amelia had heard of it?

Um. Her horse barn is in Ancramdale. She drives by my Dads house almost daily! Small world. I knew there was a reason Dark Jewel Designs was the one for me.

So, I’m a blinged out browband convert. I LOVE these browbands. I could see myself giving more as gifts. Or gifts for me…

So, if you’re on the fence, check out their Etsy sight or follow Dark Jewel Designs on Facebook. It’ll be hard to resist a new browband.

Tagged , ,

18 thoughts on “How I Fell For Bling

  1. Bling … it’s da boss 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. draftmare says:

    How did you get two for $50?! Her Etsy site shows them as 1 for $50.

    Like

  3. APitts says:

    It is such a small, small world! I’m still tickled that we found that crazy connection with Ancramdale. It’s so small that most people that live near it have never heard of it 😀

    Georgie looks fabulous! Thank you for the stellar review 🙂 And congrats again on your Rebecca success! Feel free to share the photos on my FB page. Could I use the purple one in my Flickr album?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. nadsnovik says:

    Of course! I’m honestly so happy with them!! I’ll let you know when I’m back visiting my Dad and we will have to meet up!

    Like

  5. Karen M says:

    I am pro-bling, so of course I love the look of these browbands! They look fantastic on Georgie.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love both strands!! Classy pearls and still bling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. carey says:

    SO pretty! I love a little bling, and the browbands are just the right amount. I’ve been thinking of getting Cosmo one for Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Emma says:

    What perfect colors!!!! I just LOVE Amelia’s work and it makes me smile every time I see another sparkly browband 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. KateRose says:

    Such lovely bling! I love that first browband soooo much

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

