When Your Trainer Rides Your Horse Part 2

When I signed up for a jumper show at a barn about 2 hours away, I was in a sling, nursing the broken elbow. So, it didn’t look like I’d be able to ride in the show. I was bummed, because this facility always has a welcoming atmosphere and really inviting courses. So, I asked trainer Sarah if she’d ride Georgie. She kinda grumbled about it. She was riding two other horses and wanted to bring her youngster down. I sent the entry in anyway, figuring we could always scratch. When Sarah decided not to bring her own horse, and agreed to ride Georgie I was ecstatic that she’d be getting some show jump experience.

Cause, you know. It’s Georgie who REALLY needs show jump help…

img_2244

Georgie was entered in 3’3 and two rounds at 3’6. She was Sarah’s last ride of the day and Sarah had already worked hard on the other two greener horses she was riding. I got Georgie ready and must admit I make a pretty good groom. Except that I missed some green spots on Georgie’s ears. Whoops.

They had a good warm up. When I look at Georgie being ridden I can’t get over how fancy she looks. Fancy for Georgie.

I’ll be honest. A part of me was scared that Georgie wouldn’t hit any rails and Sarah wouldn’t have any problems.Because then, we’d know Georgie wasn’t the problem…. But then, another part of me was excited to see if Georgie could go around and not hit any rails. Because that would mean there’s hope for us!  I was super conflicted.

Their first 3’3 round was lovely. Georgie was a bit more on the forehand than she had been in warm up, but they were trucking around. And didn’t hit any rails.

img_2221

Ok, ok, well that was just 3’3. Lets see how 3’6 goes…

In the first round Georgie tapped a couple of rails but nothing fell out of the cups. She galloped around easily and powerfully. Their second 3’6 round, looked easy. And fun. When they got to the jump off, Sarah started slicing jumps, cutting corners and flying around. I looked at the friend next to me and said “Well, now she’s just having fun.” And they were. Because as Sarah cantered by me after yet another clear round, she patted Georgie and said “This horse is mine.”

Second place in 3’3 and first place in 3’6

When Sarah hopped off Georgie she was smiling. Which was weird. Typically Sarah gets off of Georgie and gives mea list of all the things wrong with her. She doesn’t do this in a mean-spirited way, she just knows I am paying her to help me with the horse. She is a perfectionist and wants the horse to be perfect. I am so used to Sarah saying to me “We worked on (and the list is a mile long.) She really needs work on (and the list is another mile long.” And I kinda fake smile and nod my head, all the while inside I’m crying because I thought we had progressed SO much.

So, having her be happy with my horse made ME really happy. I’m trying not to credit it to the fact that she has been riding her a month. And I haven’t had a chance to get on her and ruin her. I’m also eating my humble pie that Georgie may not be the problem in show jumping. I’ve been successful with her at this arena before too, there aren’t any really tricky lines. No one or two strides. But some good corners (our nemesis) where you need to really balance the horse, and some narrow and vertical jumps, all of which invite a dropped rail.

img_2226

Even Georgie looks happy

This week I’m having my first lesson in 6 weeks! I plan on getting my butt kicked, but am also looking forward to riding Georgie at her best self.

Meanwhile, it looks like I need to make sure Georgie doesn’t disappear with Sarah…

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “When Your Trainer Rides Your Horse Part 2

  1. Haha the mixed emotions of trainer rides. Congrats on your show! I was bummed I couldn’t make it out for the big stuff in the morning and I guess you were gone by the time I made it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma says:

    Ha I can understand the conflicting feelings completely! All the same tho – you must be so proud of Georgie and super excited to get back out there and have your own crack at it again!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

