Dressage Saddles

For some reason I’ve decided my saddle is unacceptable and I must get rid of it and find something new. STAT. This is good insight into my way of thinking in general. I get something in my mind, and become a bit obsessed with it. There’s nothing particularly wrong with my saddle. I’ve ridden in it for over 5 years and it has served me well. It is a simple, traditional style,  Karl Neidersuss Symphonie. I bought it used at a great price, without thinking twice. It was my first dressage saddle ever, so I had no idea what I prefered. I just wanted a dressage saddle. And I have no regrets.

But now I ride in it, and I feel tipped forward. And I can’t sit as deeply as I want to. And blah blah blah. I apparently have convinced myself I need something different. And it’s true, I’m asking more of Georgie, and our dressage work is getting more difficult and precise, but really, the saddle probably isn’t contributing to my struggle with doing some of this newer dressage work.

img_2861

My trusty Niedersuss

But I have it in my head and am now on the hunt.

I’ve tried a couple of saddles at our barn. None of these saddles are for sale, I just want to get a fee for different types. As someone who has never really ridden in a saddle with blocks, HOLY COW. It’s like a whole new world. I think I like it, as it kind of forces me to put my leg where it needs to be, but it’s also a bit strange and is going to take some getting used to.

Three people ride in County saddles and I have tried 2 of them. I liked them. I think I need to ride in them more so I get used to them.  One of them I have now ridden in about 5 times. After last night’s lesson I proclaimed that I really liked it. I like the deep seat. I like the blocks. When Sarah reminded me to sit down and back, I could, and it actually did improve my riding and was way easier to ask what I wanted from Georgie.

img_2873

The County I’ve ridden in the most.

This week I rode in a Hennig. It was ok. The seat was kind of hard, but the blocks were not messing around and I felt I was able to really sit deeply in the saddle.

img_2857

The Hennig

I’m trying out an Amerigo Close Contact, a Prestige Roma and an Ideal in the near future. I’m excited about each of them, and hope I find the perfect saddle.

What dressage saddle do you ride in? What made you fall in love with your saddle? Any tips or hints for the saddle shopper?

Tagged , ,

13 thoughts on “Dressage Saddles

  1. Amanda C says:

    I’m like you, once I get something in my head I’m like a bloodhound lol. I ride in the Devoucoux Loreak because it is literally the only dressage saddle I’ve ever felt 100% balanced in. I dunno what it is about it, but it just suits my conformation perfectly. That’s the key, IMO… finding one that just clicks perfectly with you. Of course, what exactly makes a saddle click for someone varies from person to person, so I think you’re doing the right thing by sitting in as many as you can! You will start to notice which features you like and which features you don’t.

    Like

  2. Yup, definitely sit in lots. My magic saddle is a custom Custom that was Custom for someone else. No idea what the measurements are, but it’s perfect for me. ❤ Best of luck!

    Like

  3. I love my Custom Icon Flight! It has short external blocks and I really like what that does for my leg.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KateRose says:

    You sound like me, I get an idea and it sort of takes over my life! I find blocks pretty weird too. I really like Schleese dressage saddles (the wave model in particular) – worth a sit in 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. draftmare says:

    By locally if you can. Just because you find a saddle with the same tree, same measurements…doesn’t mean it will fit the same! I found this out twice when trying to find a saddle of the same brand as my training saddle. Also, try everything that you can. Make sure you get a trial. This is really why I suggest buying local. Shipping saddles back and forth is stressful, and can really eat into your saddle buying budget.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nadsnovik says:

      That makes total sense. We don’t have a local tack shop so I am trying as many peoples saddles as I can and if there is one I love I’ll probably have to do a trial and pay for shipping..

      Like

  6. I’ve ridden tons of saddles. Trilogy. Jrd. Custom. County. Amerigo. Antares. K.N. Passier. Reactor Panel. Wintec, eeeek!,
    Can’t even remember all right now.
    Love my current Lemke SDL saddle!!!

    Be careful with the blocks. Make sure to take time to find a saddle that doesn’t hinder your thigh and hamper your hips. Ride several times in the model! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Emma says:

    Lol I ride in a half plastic bates. Don’t be like me 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

