When Things Got Western

As I alluded to in an earlier post, Georgie and I happened upon a drill team at our barn, and before we knew it we were fully immersed in learning patterns and perfecting our riding with other’s skills. I’ve never done drill team, and Georgie doesn’t really play well with others, so I was a bit tentative. But, after the first practice, I knew we could handle this. Plus, all the practice was going to culminate in a Christmas spectacular at our barn’s holiday party, and I love to perform at a holiday party!

img_3216

Most of the riders in our drill rode western. Well, actually ALL of them did, except Sarah and I. But then Sarah left me to be the only outcast by throwing a western saddle on her horse. One rider told me I looked funny. Um, thanks.

img_3227

Our final line up

We were a mixed bag. Some people were really new to riding, and almost all of them had never ever performed or done drill before. They were really thankful to Sarah and I for helping and giving tips. I will admit that after the first practice I thought: “It’s like a dressage test. But you get to follow the person in front of you!” I will admit that I really never learned the pattern. I just followed the person in front of me. Super pro.

img_3212

I had to pay attention as to who to follow, but I did ok. Oh and that’s Sarah’s 5 year old front and center. You probably don’t recognize them in a western saddle…;)

I asked that Georgie and I be at the back of the pack due to her lack of tolerance with other horses. I was REALLY proud of how she behaved. Other than biting our partner’s horse in the face during a practice, she really was perfect. And weirdly, at the next practice, I no longer had that partner. In fact, by the time the performance came around, I had no partner. But I don’t think that was because everyone was frightened of my dragon disguised as a unicorn.

img_3231

You’ll notice there is a fair amount of space between me and my one neighbor…

I think the best part was the shirts.I could not look at myself in the mirror while wearing that shirt for fear of never respecting myself again.

I also loved that I had to pretend to be western by wearing a fringe snap button shirt and some chinks. I 100% wore the chinks over my breeches and half chaps. And I 100% wore a riding helmet. Those western riders haven’t all learned about how cool it is to #mindyourmelon, but some of them were sporting Tipperarys and One K helmets.

All in all, I’m really glad I participated. It was fun to mix it up a little bit and for Georgie and I to get out of our comfort zone. A couple of the riders thought I was insane to do trot sets for 25 minutes prior to the performance, but I knew Georgie needed some mindless exercise since we’d had a few easy days. She’ll always be a fit event pony, but now she can also add drill team member to her resume.

If you’d like to watch a snippet of the action, you can do so here:

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “When Things Got Western

  1. Emma says:

    Oh man that looks so much fun tho! We used to do drill patterns all the time at the first barn where I learned to ride – trainer loved them haha. Tho we usually didn’t have more than 4-6 horses per pattern.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Avery says:

    Fun cross training!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chaos and anarchy, I salute you. Seriously looks like so much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never tried drill team. This looks like a lot of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

