When the Beast Hurts Herself

Ok, so in my last post I alluded to my medical bin. There was a reason for that. I needed bute. For Georgie.

It went something like this:

She felt intermittently off in one of our rides before the New Year. Georgie has never ever been lame in the 3 years I’ve had her, so I will admit that in my head I thought “She’s bridle lame.” “She’s just stiff from these colder days.” “She’s fine.”

img_3502

So clean. So rare

I gave her a shorter ride and didn’t think too much about it. The following day we jumped around a little, over 2’3 jumps, and she felt totally fine. It was a short, uncomplicated ride. Then, we had a group jump lesson last Tuesday evening and when I hopped on her she felt off again. But more consistently. I asked Sarah to look at her and she was definitely off. Slightly. To the right.

I decided on giving her some rest and bute before calling the vet.

5 days later and she was slightly better, but still off.

So, the veterinarian came out

And had a tiny meltdown.

He agreed- slightly off on a small circle to the right.

He diagnosed it as front right leg lameness and got to work blocking her leg to figure out where it was coming from.

Not the foot. That would be too easy.

Not the fetlock.

Not the coffin bone.

At this point we were out of time to continue blocking the leg so he said he would come back the next day to finish. Georgie got her leg wrapped and spent the night in a stall, which she loved, as was evidenced by her sleeping in her manure all night. Her most favorite thing.

After two more blocks today, it was decided she had an injury to her front right suspensory ligament.

I heard the words “suspensory ligament” and had a panic attack.

img_3514

All this standing around made Georgie sleepy. Siri stuck around to make sure the vet knew what he was doing

But the vet explained a few things that made me feel better: 1) She is slightly off. Whatever is happening isn’t causing a huge amount of pain. 2) Front leg suspensory strains are typically less severe than hind limb. 3) She responded to bute, when I first gave it to her, so he feels that with rest, icing, and some more anti inflammatories she should have a full recovery.

It’s still not a great way to kick off 2017. My horse is lame for the first time in 3 years. But, it is what it is, and I guess we will need to baby her a bit more these days. She’ll be getting the next two weeks off and then a recheck exam. And we will go from there. Probably more time off before starting to bring her back slowly.

In the meantime I’ll be taking lessons on a friend’s lovely gelding and riding whomever else I can. So, blerg. I miss 2016.

 

Tagged , , , ,

26 thoughts on “When the Beast Hurts Herself

  1. Amanda C says:

    UGH that sucks, but good that it’s only a strain. Just way over-baby it, it’ll be fine. Henry also decided that this was the perfect time for his SI to start flaring up again, so I’m probably scratching this weekend. WHY, horses, WHY?

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    New reader!

    I agree with Amanda, baby it a ton and you’ll be fine! My 100-mile horse had lesions in her LH suspensory. I hope Georgie is better in a short time and hopefully it isn’t actually the suspensory but something else far less minor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nadsnovik says:

      Thanks. I’d be interested to know what you did to help your horse rehab.

      Like

      • Liz says:

        Because I have two other horses, it’s winter, and I have plenty of time on my hands, I just turned her out with her herd (she is always turned out and never in a stall) and didn’t touch her at all beyond trimming her feet 1x/month. Endurance riders who’ve dealt with these injuries advocated time off more than anything, so she’s getting just that. We’ll probably start doing some in hand work and walking under saddle in coming months, but not much more. I want to get her back to 50 and 100mile rides if I can, so I’m moving at a glacial pace.

        Liked by 1 person

      • nadsnovik says:

        Awesome. Yes I’ve heard going slow with bringing them back is key. Thanks!

        Like

  3. Noooooooo. Hopefully she’s as big of a pain pussy as C and it’s not a big deal.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. draftmare says:

    Oh no! I hope she heals up quickly!

    Like

  5. Karen M says:

    Ughhhhhhh that sucks, but at least it doesn’t sound too dire.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. KateRose says:

    Oh no 😦 Sorry to hear. Sending good vibes! Hope she feels 100% soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. L. Williams says:

    That really sucks 😦 I hope she feels better soon

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kate Little says:

    Yuck I hate reading this! Fingers crossed it’s a relatively quick recovery.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. carey says:

    Poop. I’m bummed for you. I hope some some rest and babying it will do the trick and you get back to prepping for your kick-ass 2017 show season.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. 😦 So sorry…
    Just as everyone says – REST. She will heal, it’s just a matter of time. AND, when starting back, realize that 12 weeks of INCREDIBLY easy and small increments of loading the tendon more (we’re talking timing trot to 1 minute increment increases), will do wonders for keeping a flare up away.
    Crossing fingers for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Emma says:

    Oh man I’m sorry Nadia – definitely not how we ever want to kick off a new year 😦 hopefully a little time off and she’ll be fine!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ughhh sucky way to kick off 2017. But maybe this will fulfill your quota for issues and the rest of the year will be amazeballs. Sending good thoughts your way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

