Fancy Dressaging

So, while Val wouldn’t be considered a fancy dressage horse for most DQs, he’s the nicest mover I’ve ridden in recent memory. (And by recent memory, I mean my entire memory, as it’s pretty forgetful these days). My lesson on him was really fun, and Sarah helped me work on his canter and keeping him consistent to the contact. And keeping his haunches from flying inward, while his shoulders go outwards.

#dressage

Cute pony!

The first thing she said to me was “Yup. This is how you used to ride Kilkee in this saddle.” My Clyde x and I did a lot of learning together. And since I had yet to experience the seat of a dressage saddle at the time, I did what I could in my trusty AP. So, we worked on my leg position and some other things and then got to work on Val and I.

He’s a bit tricky to ride, he’s not a pimped out, broke dressage horse. Which, for me, makes it fun! And difficult. But, I’m not going to learn anything on a push button horse. His trot is great, it’s got some suspension and some front end movement that when I look in the mirror I think looks super fancy.

#lengthentrot

Wheeeeeee!

The best part? He has a lengthen!! I giggled like a 10 year old when Sarah had me lengthen across the arena.

Don’t believe me? Watch the video:

You can hear Sarah tell me to ask for more at the end, and it does make a difference. This was the end of the ride and he was a bit pooped, but he happily was like “Ok, I’ll be fancier.”

His canter takes some work. Especially going left. This may be a Nadia problem, but I was not getting into the rhythm going left. Hello, homework! He’s happy to be a bit strung out, and a bit crooked, but when I ask him to go correctly, he has a really nice gait!

img_4414

Please notice the VERY unhappy grey mare in the background. She was not happy that Val would get near her. #mareproblems

I’ve committed myself to riding him 3 days a week. I’m really lucky to have him- as if I didn’t I know I would be fretting about Georgie WAY more. We DID have our vet appointment yesterday, and I will leave the details for another post, but let’s just say we are headed in the right direction with her…

So, here’s to being a bit of a DQ for the next little bit and enjoying my fuzzy, fancy, Shetland pony looking Val!

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Fancy Dressaging

  1. Grace C says:

    He sounds like exactly what you need right now, and you’ll be a better rider for Georgie once she is back in action too (:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would have giggled during that lengthen too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. draftmare says:

    I know you have a trainer there, and videos can be deceiving, but he almost looks NQR on his front right leg in the first half of the video? Once he lengthens across the arena he looks fine though.

    Like

  4. Seriously such a great opportunity for everyone. 🙂

    Like

  5. Emma says:

    Ahh this is so cool tho!! And I miss riding Isabel’s lengthening – they’re so fun!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

