Georgie Update

I’m not one to complain about work much, but this past week was absolute insanity. Part of the insanity was being tasked with trying to find a home for a horse. Not a horse. A stallion. I work in animal welfare, but we don’t handle horses. Until this past week apparently.

img_4606

Said stallion was living in a dog kennel. I think that igloo wasn’t going to be adequate shelter for him…

What I quickly found out, when tasked with getting him out of there, was that no one wants a 14-year-old unbroke stallion. So, I made an appointment to have him gelded. Maybe someone wants a 14 year old unbroke TB/QH/Mustang gelding? I’ve secured 30 days board for him and really really need him to find a home. I’ve never done horse rescue before. It’s a ton of work!

But, this post is about Georgie! So let’s get to it! Georgie’s recheck appt was last Tuesday and the vet was impressed with her progress. She looked sound on the small circle. But then we had her go the other direction and she was moving so much looser and more forward than to the right. Which was concerning to him.

She still looked sound on a straight line. Not a lot of reaction to palpating the suspensory. He got out hoof testers and she was a bit reactive on the right  leg. He wondered if perhaps there was something else going on. He suggested blocking the foot again.

And that’s when I got the call there was a stallion in a dog pen and a bunch of other animals needing help and I had to cut the appointment short. When I told my vet I had a work emergency he asked “What kind of emergency does the animal shelter get?” This worked to my advantage- he offered to geld the stallion at a greatly reduced cost when I called him, and was happy to help out. What it didn’t help was that we had to move to plan B with Georgie. He suggested I trot her every other day both directions. Then check to see if she is still sound the following day.

So far, so good! She feels good under saddle and is totally willing to move forward at the trot. We’re just going around the edge of the arena, for a few minutes at a time, but it is really nice to be back on her.

img_4618

I keep forgetting to bring my bridle down to the barn so I ride her in a rope halter. She’s been perfect about it thus far.

Perhaps during the gelding of “Lucky” the stallion (I did NOT name him) we can see if following up with the block is a good idea….

Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “Georgie Update

  1. draftmare says:

    Yeah…who thought putting a horse in a dog pen was a good idea?!

    But yay on trotting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emma says:

    oy good luck with both finding the stallion a home and figuring out what might be up with Georgie. hopefully there’s nothing else lurking there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karen M says:

    Jeez that poor horse. Glad you got him out of that situation and double glad Georgie is so far so good!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Because of course your prelim-ready event horse can do rehab in a halter. #jealous

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Liz says:

    Yay for improvements, boo to it still being a little bit of a mystery.

    Like

  6. Avery says:

    Stallion in a dog kennel, love that lol and that he is gelded. People are so…I do not even have the words. My friend just got a horse that was turned out onto the road by her previous owners.
    I am glad there is some progress for Georgie! Focus on the progress and the baby steps. I hope you get answers soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

