Jumping Smokey

The other day I had an urge to jump that I hadn’t felt in a while. I haven’t jumped in about a month, and I was literally chomping at the bit. Lucky for me, my friend said I could jump her mare, Smokey. Smokey and Georgie “go” similarly, and while Smokey is a couple of inches shorter, the two mares get confused for each other often. I guess one grey looks like another grey.

Smokey is a QH and was originally a hunter princess. She somehow ended up in a local therapy program, and sadly she hated it. Meghan, who was working for the program purchased her and they haven’t looked back since. They’ll be going Training this spring and Smokey is proving to be a great event pony.

img_4677

Anyway, I was super excited to jump Smokey and she didn’t disappoint. She LOVES jumping. She was fun to ride as she is honest and willing to the jump so I could play around with making the approach to the jump as good as possible without worrying I was going to upset her by trying some different methods. She tends to want to veer through the corner and then grab the bit and rush to the jump. So, we worked on half halts and square corners and keeping a rhythmic, forward approach.

img_4679

I think my favorite part of the entire day was seeing Smokey’s tidy knees come up for every jump. Ahh, hunters. They jump pretty.

img_4676

A mare that uses her neck. It’s something Georgie could learn…

Thanks Meg for letting me have some fun on your mare. It was good to get my jumping fix!

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Jumping Smokey

  1. SprinklerBandits says:

    Awwwww my Smokey love!! Such a cool mare.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fun!! She is a very fun looking ride!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Emma says:

    So cool your friends are getting all these neat horses for you to play with!! Smokey looks like a blast!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. draftmare says:

    Omg those knees!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Daww she’s adorable!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

