Saying Goodbye

When I originally started this blog it was to chronicle my adventures as I looked for a new horse. I wasn’t sure I wanted to keep leasing Georgie and thought I would purchase a horse instead.

At this moment in time I have no idea why I would ever have thought I didn’t want to keep Georgie.

This past Friday the vet came out to ultrasound her suspensory. Georgie has a tear in her suspensory ligament. The vet checked and rechecked, not understanding how a hole of this size could be in a horse with such minor lameness. She mentioned that Georgie must be a super tough mare.

Yeah. She is. She also has a heart of gold.

img_0224

I’ve obviously shed a lot of tears over this new-found information. I spoke with her owner and we both agreed. Georgie shouldn’t compete at the upper levels again, even if in 6 months or a year she appears sound. She’s given me everything. Why would I ask her to do it again and possibly reinjure herself?

IMG_1366

I feel like I’ll still be seeing this view from between her ears

So, come May, when the snow has hopefully melted, Georgie will be rehabbing in a lovely privately owned stable. I’ll be giving up the lease as is, and creating a new lease on her. One where I am responsible for checking in on her, getting her out for walks and making sure she is doing well. While I can’t continue the financial aspect of keeping Georgie during rehab, I didn’t want to say goodbye completely, and happily agreed to continue being her primary caretaker.  My hope is that one day she can show someone wanting to go BN what an incredible thrill it can be to ride a safe and honest horse cross country.

I have so many “I wish we could haves” but I’m not going to dwell on them. Our partnership was clearly not long enough, but man it was super fantastic while we had it. I never fell off of Georgie. She never, ever, refused a fence. What horse in 3+ years never stops at a fence??? She never scared me and she never hurt me. She didn’t mind that I dressed her in purple from head to toe. She let me learn so much, and kept saying yes when I asked for more.

I am so incredibly lucky to have had Georgie in my life as a competition horse. My dream when I started eventing to was to maybe, one day, go Training. Not only did we accomplish that goal but we became a competitive Training pair and were ready to tackle Prelim, despite the fact that I was initially told Georgie would never be a Prelim worthy horse. With Georgie as my partner, I never feared a thing while on her back. That mare took care of me and saved my butt more times than I can count.

ditch-wall

Mare tackled this ditch wall like it was nothing. Just like I knew she would

So, yes, I’m devastated. And yes, the crying and lamenting will continue for a bit longer. But here’s the thing. Georgie will still be a part of my life. And who knows, perhaps if she is sound I’ll get to rehab her and take her to her first BN event post injury. I’m lucky that this is not a final goodbye.

And I’m lucky for incredible friends. People who have been offering me horses to ride and buy since they’ve heard the news. This certainly isn’t the end of Georgie, and it isn’t the end for me either. Sure, moving forward every horse will have to live up to Georgie and I’ll always compare them to the mare that did no wrong. But it’s ok. I am ready to start falling off, and refusing fences, and I am more than ready to continue the 3Day adventures with horses.

rebecca

Tagged , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

  1. Emma says:

    Oh man, Nadia I am so sorry to read this 😦 you and Georgie have been a wonderful and inspirational partnership to follow! I’m glad she’s still in your life but just so so so sorry that the path has changed

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    I am so incredibly sorry to hear this! I’ve only just begun following your blog, but from looking at past posts it is so evident what an astonishingly amazing partner Georgie has been. I hate hearing that she’s suffered such an injury that puts her career in total limbo!

    I remember hearing the words “lesions in her suspensory” with my mare and it was a total gut punch. I definitely grieved for a solid month before digging out of my hole and seeing the light. Like Georgie, she’s exhibited minimal lameness throughout and she healed remarkably fast so far as how it looks on an ultrasound. I’m still giving her more time off though to be safe!

    Definitely thinking about you and Georgie through this time. It’s awesome that you’ve got an amazing support group who continues to enable your horse habit! Hugs.

    Like

    • nadsnovik says:

      Thank you! Yeah she’s been an amazing partner. Hopefully she will heal quickly and we can get her back out to doing what she loves. Glad to hear your mare is doing well. It’s such a stupid injury!! Grr

      Like

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Hugs, Nadia!! ❤ I am so sorry to hear this news and how the future has changed. It is never easy to have to retire a horse, but the best thing is at least you can still love on Georgie and take care of her needs. Thinking of you! xox

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amanda C says:

    So sorry to hear this. She’s lucky to have you guys though, and hopefully she makes a full recovery!

    Like

  5. Oh I’m so sorry. That’s rough. I’m so glad you are able to continue to be in her life.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Avery says:

    What a wonderful tribute to a wonderful mare. I am so sorry for you, but am so glad you still get to be with each other. Here is to a happy recovery!

    Like

  7. KateRose says:

    Oh no 😦 I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m glad you will still be in Georgie’s life. Sending big hugs ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. carey says:

    I’m so sorry, but I’m so glad that she will still be in your life. I hope she recovers and is able to teach beginners some of the things she has taught you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Grace C says:

    Heartbreaking decision but good for you for putting her welfare first and foremost. My mare injured her front suspensory about a year ago and the news was an emotional blow that took me awhile to mentally cope with. I’m glad Georgie will be a part of your life still while you search for your next partner!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Karen M says:

    What a difficult thing to go through. I hope she makes a full recovery!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. draftmare says:

    Ugh, so sorry to read this. 😦 I hope she makes a full and speedy recovery!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. SprinklerBandits says:

    I hated reading the fb update this weekend and I hate reading this now. So sorry for you both, but glad you and the owner are on the same page and Georgie has a good place to go . 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh this is awful. I’m so sorry that your upper level journey with Georgie is ending. But I’m very happy it is not more serious, and that you get to keep playing together.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. So very sorry for you! My heart hurts for you during this decision, but I’m glad that you’ll have the chance to still be with her.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. EquiNovice says:

    I wish I knew the right thing to say, but this is just such tough news. It is difficult to make the decision to retire from something you do well, it just plain sucks when that decision is made for you due to injury. I’m glad you were able to talk things through with the owner and I’m very glad you’ll still get to kiss that sweet nose during her recovery.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Hillary H. says:

    Just catching up and so sorry to read this 😦

    Like

  17. L. Williams says:

    I’m just catching up too, I’m so sorry to hear this, but I’m glad that your support network is there to catch you during this time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

