So… What’s Next?

Lots of people have been asking me that question. And I get it. Horses and riding have been a part of my life for so long that it can’t all stop now, just because I lost the best horse I’ve ever had (still sad and lamenting, sorry.)

13603384_10153830230538251_8072990645252793239_o

Best horse I’ve ever had, in action

And no, it’s not going to end now. When I got the news about Georgie, and began to process it, I realized I had a few options.

  1. Breed Georgie
  2. Look into leasing another horse.
  3. Look into purchasing a greenie or youngster

There are obviously pros and cons to each of these. You’ll notice that Number 4: Purchase a going horse, is absent from the list. I wasn’t actually expecting to have to spend money on a new horse, so my budget is not going to support throwing down a lot of cash on a my new equine friend.

A couple of people suggested breeding Georgie. Both of these people are experienced horse breeders. They’ve had great experiences with it and truth been told, I’ve been thinking about breeding Georgie (with her owner’s permission) for a little while now. It was something I always had in the back of my mind. But now that I have a perfectly good excuse to actually do it, I don’t want to.

I’m not going to get into all the reasons for this, because I think breeding is a very personal decision, but what it ultimately comes down to, is that I am not a horse breeder. It’s as simple as that. (Sort of.)

Option 2 was very appealing in the hopes that I could still compete this season.  But, I am kind of ready to start a new partnership with a horse that has no rules or stipulations attached. It’d be really nice to be able to make all the decisions for my next horse without needing the permission of someone else.

meme

So, that leaves me with Option #3. A youngster is appealing to me as I have never started a horse and I’m not getting any younger, but I feel like I now have the tools (and friends) to make this an ok idea. Starting a relationship from scratch, with no baggage, is appealing to me. I’ll probably start looking at youngsters and see what might fit the bill, and whether I am really ready to start this new chapter.

baby horse

Maybe I’ll have this to look forward to…

Quite unexpectedly,  people have been offering me their horses to ride in the meantime.  As someone who didn’t really let anyone ride Georgie, I find it incredibly kind that people would let me ride their horses.

There is one horse in particular that I have begun to ride and she and I may have a future together. I’ll get into this in my next post, but I’m excited about this new partnership and where it may take us!

Tagged , ,

13 thoughts on “So… What’s Next?

  1. Alanna says:

    Well as sad as that is it’s also exciting to explore what is “next.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Liz says:

    The start of a new adventure makes the end of old ones a little easier to bear. Youngsters with clean slates are SO FUN. Starting Griffin and training him has been one of my most favorite experiences of anything I’ve pursued in life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emma says:

    ugh yea i know this mental game of ‘pick a door, any door!’ all too well since that’s basically where i was last summer. some of my trainers really wanted me to lease or buy something already going, but i had similar issues to what you write about above (read: money is a real thing, and after leasing for so long i was ready to call my own shots). so as you know, i opted for door #3, tho my horse isn’t particularly “young” lol. so far? it’s been SUPER rewarding.

    part of me worries that by riding something so green, i’m getting very rusty or losing my touch for more advanced stuff… but honestly i don’t think that’ll actually prove to be true. and in the meantime i’m definitely enjoying the process and journey and whatnot.

    really tho i think if you stay true to yourself and your interests and your ‘type’ horse, you can’t go wrong! i’m looking forward to seeing what the next steps look like for you!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • nadsnovik says:

      Yeah I actually thought about you and Isabelle and Charlie a lot through all of this as you had a similar experience/situation. And I think you’re right, I just need to stay true to myself and what I can take on…within a budget.

      Like

  4. shelbyrallen says:

    As someone who has come to the same conclusions with my own horse in the last year… my heart goes out to you. It’s tough to figure out the what’s next. Stay excited about the prospect of a new partnership and all the adventures that come along with it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KateRose says:

    I think a youngster or greenie are great options! 🙂 It worked out well for me (knock on wood).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love the idea of buying a youngster! That’s what I did after leasing several horses. It feels amazing to 100% be in control of all decisions!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m a terrible commitmentphobe and hate making big decisions. Hate. Also hate babies. We’ve talked about the OTTB thing before and I totally get your logic there too. 😉 Best wishes for what comes next.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tracy - Fly On Over says:

    Take your time — that’s my best advice. And I’m so, so glad you’re able to ride in the meantime!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. L. Williams says:

    Blank Slates are awesome, and I totally get what you mean. I hardly let anyone ride my first horse Carlos, he was quirky and rude so that was part of it… and when he died I was pleasantly surprised that I got a lot of offers of horses to ride. It does brighten the heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

