Maybe Macy

For the past 2-3 weeks I’ve been riding Sarah’s former 2* horse, Macy. Macy is a legend at our barn. Yes, she was a successful 2* eventer with Sarah, and then went on to have an adorable baby when she retired. But, it’s more her personality that’s legendary. When I first started riding with Sarah I started to hear stories about Macy. How she would kill you if you looked at her wrong while cleaning her stall. How she would bite you if you brushed her. How one time, at one event, she got away from Sarah and took off. She somehow ended up with half her body underneath a horse trailer. The stories don’t end, and so I’ve always regarded Macy from a safe distance of about 10-20 feet away.

FullSizeRender (2)

Who, me?

When Macy came out of semi retirement a couple of years ago, Sarah let me ride her. The lesson started with Sarah screaming at me “DON’T TOUCH HER MOUTH!!” Lets just say the lesson didn’t go that well after that. I did end up riding Macy in a TOC show a couple of months later, but I didn’t touch her mouth, so we didn’t really wow the judge.

With her baby weaned, Sarah decided to bring Macy back into some light work since she was seemingly sound and just sitting around in the pasture. And then Georgie injured herself. So, now we’ve got a horseless rider, and an experienced event horse needing to be ridden. Perfect match, right?

Well. Sort of.

Remember how I said I don’t love the sensitive TB? Well, I wouldn’t say Macy is really sensitive, she’s more just crazy. When she is good, she’s amazing. But when she is bad, she is not fun AT ALL. I’ve now experienced both. I experienced bad Macy on my own, riding along in the indoor and she decided she was DONE. She does this really fun thing where she throws her head in the air and unseats you by using her incredibly strong neck. Or, she will throw her head/neck and start crow hopping. You can’t do anything but try to get your seat back and wait for it to be over. And then, it’s over, and you’re back to doing shoulder in, haunches in, and a bunch of other upper level movements.

So, in last night’s lesson, Sarah broke out the draw reins. She saw how much I struggled with Macy when I was riding her on her own, and she is sick of the mare pulling that shit. I’ve never ridden in draw reins, and didn’t even know Sarah had any, so we spent about 15 minutes just talking about how to use them (and how I shouldn’t use them unless they are needed) and why it will help when Macy pulls her head tossing, neck strength shenanigans.

Lets just say I was really glad I had them for our lesson. I spent about half the lesson with them loose and untouched. And then, she spooked at nothing and proceeded to unseat me and pull her head and neck out and wham, hit the draw reins. Her reaction lasted about a quarter what it had when I rode her without them. She pulled some more shit throughout the lesson, the worst freak out was when we asked her to lengthen. I am posting the video so you get a sense of what it’s like, but also want to say I take full responsibility for her being disgruntled. Um, I’m pulling back and asking her forward and she had nowhere to go. Look how unhappy she is before I even get to the diagonal. The second go around was lovely. But this was not fun.

At the end of the lesson we had schooled shoulder in, haunches in and lots of leg yield. Macy is an AMAZING teacher. I could actually do these movements with ease- I didn’t have to ask for much, she is sensitive to my aids, and once I realized less is more, we really had some nice moments.

IMG_4959

But we also had 4-5 freak out moments. And at the end of the lesson, as Sarah was putting poles away, Macy spooked at the sound of them hitting the ground. Because she has never seen or heard poles before. Grr. And when I say she spooked, it’s a real spook. Not a one leg movement. An entire body bolting movement. It’s just annoying. I feel like I can’t ever have her on a loose rein. We tried to do a stretchy chewy and this happened:

So, I don’t want to make it seem like everything Macy does is bad. Because again, we had some lovely moments. And some of it was really fun!

Like this haunches in work!

But at the end of the lesson, I said to Sarah that while I liked Macy, I was also kinda scared of her. Sarah said she completely understood. Obviously Macy isn’t a horse for me to purchase or ride forever. But she is an incredibly talented horse that I could learn a ton from and potentially even compete this summer. She’s also free and a great option for me while I wait for baby horse to grow up. So.. maybe Macy is going to be my next partner in crime, even if it is just to learn from and become a better rider from. One of Sarah’s students once said about their current horse “I think of this as a business deal. I’m going to learn from her, she’s going to learn from me.” (Or something like that) And I think that maybe I need to go into riding Macy like that. I don’t have to fall in love with her, I just need to have a partnership that works. As long as I feel safe, and Macy is having a little bit of fun, maybe we can make this work.

IMG_4960

Fun. I need to remember this should be fun.

I want to thank Sarah for trusting me enough to ride her beloved horse and for also understanding my feelings about her. It’s tough to ride your coach’s/best friend’s horse and then blog about it, but Sarah has been amazing, and so far has agreed with any concerns I have about Macy, and has supported me through all of it!

So, for now, lets see how this plays out!

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Maybe Macy

  1. Emma says:

    Good luck! The opportunity to learn from something so talented and well schooled is really valuable. You undoubtedly already know this but my only caution would be to take care that she doesn’t undermine your trust with her shenanigans. I rode one horse for about a year who had one particular stunt she always pulled, and I ended up carrying that baggage on to other horses (as in, suddenly I was screwing up badly on even the most bombproof packers). Annoying. Still tho – she seems pretty cool!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Exciting that you have something to ride! What does your trainer say to do when she acts naughty (like in the lengthening video)? I’m not sure I’d won’t to ride her either- I’ve ridden my fair share of bratty horses and I just don’t find it fun, personally. My 2 cents- just make sure she isn’t taking away your confidence as a rider, because it can be hard to get back 😣

    Liked by 1 person

    • nadsnovik says:

      Agreed! Sarah had been dealing with Macy for 16 years and just says to let it pass. You can’t really “do” anything is the problem. I don’t THINK she will take away my confidence BUT we have to see how we get along jumping. I definitely need a solid partner for that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. carey says:

    Sounds like a challenging but rewarding ride. I hope you both learn some good things from each other and have some fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lauren says:

    What a fun opportunity! Macy sounds a little crazy but also a great chance to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a cool opportunity!

    Like

  6. Maybe she’s really just resetting your standard and when you get on the next one and are like “GOD THIS ONE IS SO NICE AND EASY!”. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

