Keeping the Sanity

While I would love to give myself credit for how amazingly sane Macy has been acting lately, I don’t think that’s giving the full picture of what’s going on.

Sure, I think Macy tolerates me. Maybe even kinda likes me. She definitely likes that I let her get away with things Sarah NEVER let her get away with. And while I don’t always push her to her potential, or ask more and more of her, I do work her hard and expect her to work when I am on her back. Some days she is fine with that, most days in fact, but she does still let me know her opinions. But to be honest, her opinions have been far less dramatic recently, and today I rode her without draw reins. While I have ridden her without draw reins jumping, or hacking out, the thought of leaving them in the tack room for dressage seemed a bit risky.

But. She was perfect.

So, I’m going to give a shout out to some pharmaceuticals that I think are helping with her brain. And helping me enjoy this mare as much as I have.

Sarah has tried some calming supplements in the past. Nothing had really worked. In fact, the calming supplement from SmartPak “SmartCalm” made Macy even crazier. When she called SmartPak, they mentioned that yeah, that could happen in like 1% of horses. Oh Macy.

IMG_5139

Sarah telling Macy that if she doesn’t behave she’ll be getting draw reins again.

But something about having a baby and hormones changing seemed to make Macy more receptive to drugs.

IMG_5142

Macy on drugs that work

Sarah started her out on Regumate. It hadn’t worked in the past, but this time around it seemed to take the edge off. She was still a bit whackadoodle, but better. Because there was a positive difference, Sarah switched to the injectable regumate. There is some controversy over this drug, and how it affects horses, but so far Sarah is happy with it. And should it become banned from horses competing in recognized events we can deal with that.

Because what seems to have made the biggest difference is Quiessence.

36981_L_vvs_000

It’s like a miracle drug.

It has completely taken the edge off.

And while Macy will always be Macy, (today she wouldn’t let me groom her, so I had to let her gallop around for about 10 minutes) once she gets the ya yas out, she is ready to go to work. And doesn’t pull any of her crap. It’s not like being all wound up lasts for the entire lesson like it used to.

Um. Amazing wonder drug.

Now, we’re headed to a schooling show this weekend. And to be honest, I 100% expect Macy to be tense and slighty crazy. It’s who she is. But even if she is, the fact that I can enjoy her at home, safely, means the world to me.

So here’s to sanity for both of us, and enjoying the use of safe and legal pharmaceuticals!

Tagged , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Keeping the Sanity

  1. emma says:

    um, that mare glare in the first picture jusssssst about sums it all up, doesn’t it? lol…..

    awesome that the quiessence is working so well! we had a couple horses on it at my last farm but none for exactly the same reasons (and actually, none that i knew before/after either) but it seemed to be a staple. glad it’s such a great fit for Macy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Liz says:

    That look! I know it SO well. Q gives it to me on the reg haha. It’s really interesting to hear how the calming supplement didn’t work at all, I’d never have guessed a horse could react so strongly to what is essentially herbs! Very cool from a science perspective. I had Q on that same supplement for awhile (didn’t notice a damn difference) and she was also on magnesium for a long while (no damn difference). In addition to individual body chemistry, I wonder how the different soils in each region play a roll in how effective certain minerals are in helping horses with regards to calming supplements in particular. While not necessarily related to calming supps, I know we’re super selenium deficient here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oooooh!! Are you coming to the WSH show?

    …I’m theoretically C there for exposure.

    Like

  4. carey says:

    I have had good luck with quiessence in the past, glad it’s work for Macy. Good luck at the show–have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KateRose says:

    I’ve heard such great things about magnesium! Glad you found something that works for her. Mystic is on raspberry leaf for her hormones, she gets super moody during her heat cycles and it helps a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Karen M says:

    I might have to look into that Quiessence stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happier mares through pharmaceuticals. AMEN!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. L. Williams says:

    Haha she is the 1%

    Like

  9. draftmare says:

    I have heard of a lot of people who have been very happy with Quiessence. Glad to hear its working for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

