The Best Grey Mare’s Birthday

It’s a special day for Georgie.  And a special day for me, as I used it as an excuse to give her a bath. Mare is DISGUSTING. I don’t know if it is because she hasn’t been brought in daily for grooming like she was when I was riding her, but my once a week grooming sessions are doing nada for her.

IMG_5183

In case you don’t believe me

She hasn’t moved to her new place yet, so I decided to take advantage of the indoor wash rack. She was thrilled to hear that her birthday present was a bath. Mare loves to be dirty, barely tolerates being bathed.

IMG_5191

The look she gave me when she heard she was getting bathed.

I didn’t do an amazing job, mainly because I didn’t have three hours, but I got a LOT of the filth off. I threw on her cooler and brought her outside to let her graze while she dried off. We barely made it onto the grass before she rolled. And as she got up her cooler was all askew, my lead rope came off of her halter and she took off. Good bye lame horse who isn’t supposed to do more than walk! Luckily the green grass nearby enticed her, and after galloping over to Macy to say hi (or show Macy that she was really the crazy one around here) she let me come grab her.

IMG_5193

Post roll and gallop. Moderately clean still

I let her graze while I curried her, I mean there had to be something she would enjoy about this day, since it was her 14th birthday… and when we were all done, I brought her back to her pen. Where she rolled again. She is now just as dirty as she was pre-bath.

So, Happy Birthday Georgie! Way to never change and prove to me that you’ve still got as much sass and as many opinions as you did when you were 13.

Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “The Best Grey Mare’s Birthday

  1. happy birthday Georgie!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. draftmare says:

    Happy birthday Georgie, and naughty girl rolling and running off!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karen M says:

    Happy birthday, dirty mare!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KC Scott says:

    OMG, grey horses are heartbreaking. I won’t let myself look back after I turn P out, because I’ll cry. Happy birthday, Georgie!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. L. Williams says:

    Happy Birthday Georgie!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cathryn says:

    Happy Birthday, Georgie!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Emma says:

    Aww happy bday sweet Mare!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

