The Good, The Bad, and the Drugs

After my fall Tuesday I took Wednesday off. I’m pretty sure it was because I had a work engagement but I was so body sore I probably would have used any excuse to take the day off. 

My ride Thursday started off great. She was relaxed and so was I. We worked in the indoor on getting deep and being forward. 

And then a bird flew up out of the corner and she freaked out. And nearly dumped me. Again. 

My two monsters


I was so pissed I kept her nose to her chest for the rest of our tense ride.

The following day I let her gallop around prior to riding. She was cuckoo and literally ran into/tried to jump the outdoor arena fence.

Um, ok. 

Our ride was ok. Tense. Lots of snorting.

Yesterday’s ride was lovely


She had cut her leg but felt physically fine. I questioned whether I wanted to ride this mare anymore.

And then I remembered that we had taken her off of her injectable Regu Mate. We had thought it wasn’t doing anything and that the Quiessence was the miracle drug. Apparently it’s the two drugs together that help this mare’s brain.

So, she got that injection. And yesterday we had a lovely hack around the property.

I’m off to speak at a conference in Florida this week (yay! Florida in May! Why couldn’t this have happened in January?) and hopefully when I return Macy and I can resume with our more enjoyable drug induced rides.

I got some quality Georgie time in this weekend

8 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and the Drugs

  1. Lauren says:

    Mares are so tough. Glad you have figures out the trick though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma says:

    #betterlivingthruchemistry

    Have fun in Florida!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey it’s nice to know that the stuff you pay for actually works, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Like Emma said, better lives through pharmaceutical intervention. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. draftmare says:

    Bah, that’s rough. But I am rooting for you that a combo of the two drugs will bring her back to earth.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Tracy - Fly On Over says:

    Better living through chemistry is my motto!

    Like

  7. L. Williams says:

    Hopefully regular Macy returns!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

