Horse Happiness

Yesterday I headed 4.5 hours (one way) to go see Junebug and decide if she was the horse for me. I brought my most trusted advisors with me, Sarah and Stella, and knew I wouldn’t go astray with them helping me.

Stella got car sick the entire trip up there, which made me feel like maybe we weren’t starting off on the right foot. But once we got there her spirits brightened and she happily ran around while Sarah and I met with Rapid’s owner/breeder.

We brought Junebug in from her pasture, put her on the cross ties and I got to grooming her. She stood and let me groom her everywhere as well as pick up her feet. She wasn’t antsy, or pushy, and literally just stood in the crossties.

IMG_5433

I also got right to work getting lots of pics

Next we took her into the arena, out of sight of the other horses. We trotted her around a bit so I could see her move and then I attached the lead rope and walked and trotted her over some poles. She was slightly distracted, but it really wasn’t until the other horses whinnied for her that she realized she was away from them. She still allowed me to lead her around and was completely sensible.

IMG_5489

We headed back out and I took her for a walk around the property and down the long driveway. She was slightly more interested in turning back to her friends than heading away from them, but was easy to handle and was easily convinced to go with me and leave her friends.

IMG_5424

So shiny!

As we were walking along I thought to myself, I’m buying a horse for her brain, everything is secondary and I need to remember that. When I got back to Sarah and Junebug’s owner, I found out that Junebug had only gotten out a few times in her 23 months. If mare is this sensible with that little handling, I feel like I am getting the brain I want.

Conformationally she is built uphill, has good bone and is the thick, stocky build that I like. I imagine she’ll grow to about 16hh. She won’t be built like a lithe racehorse, but I feel like her breeding will help with getting around xc easily.

IMG_5452

Lastly, after saying goodbye to Junebug, we drove over to go meet her momma. Her mom is a Quarter Horse who has produced some nice babies. Junebug’s maternal grandma produced lots of nice, smart, jumpers. I need to research the lineage a little more, but momma was well built and seemed sweet. Her full brother is a total sweetheart, with a lovely build and great brain.

IMG_5466

Cute momma!

And her Dad. Her Dad is who I hope will get us some nice dressage scores and will give her major athletic prowess. Her half sister has proven to be quite the athlete, so I’m hoping Junebug will also prove to be a great eventer.

As we headed home I started talk things over with Sarah and Stella. Our conversation didn’t last long, as it was clear she was a great baby horse for me to take a chance on! I’m currently figuring out when to bring her home and what our future will look like together. She will be 3 on 6/24, so we have some months of ground work and life experiences together before I get to riding her.

IMG_5453

Not a bad life so far

I’m obviously excited, and nervous, and anxious, but mostly excited. I can’t wait to start our future together!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Horse Happiness

  1. Emma says:

    That’s so exciting!! She sounds like a real sweetie and very sensible! Can’t wait to get to know more about her!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Liz says:

    So exciting! Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures together

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Grace C says:

    Glad the visit went well! She looks like quite the contender (:

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Yay! She is a cutie! I can’t wait to read all about your new adventure with Miss Junebug!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hope she’s exactly what you’re looking for!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. KC Scott says:

    Congratulations!!! She’s adorable. Can’t wait to hear all about her when she gets home!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Avery says:

    yay!!! ❤ how exciting! I look forward to hearing more about her and all the awesomeness!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Alanna says:

    Ahh…Congratulations. She’s adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So exciting! She’s adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congrats!! I am so excited to read about your adventures together!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. draftmare says:

    She’s cute! That’s so exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. L. Williams says:

    Yay young horse journeys!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. KateRose says:

    Congrats!!! Junebug is adorable ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

