More Macy Chronicles

About 2 days into my unofficial lease of Macy I fell jumping her. We had some terrible rides after that, mainly as a result of me being nervous and tense. I told Sarah I wasn’t up for riding her on my own- it wasn’t helping anything, and wanted to try and only ride in lessons.

So, for the past 3 weeks or so, that’s what we have been doing. Having eyes on the ground that know this horse so well has been incredibly helpful, but also, at times, incredibly stressful. Sarah and I had a rather unpleasant lesson where Macy was a spook factory, churning them out at an incredible rate. Sarah eventually yelled at me that I was overreacting to the spook and making things worse. This turned into a back and forth of “well I’ve never ridden a spooky horse!” “well her spooks are an overreaction to nothing so what do you expect me to do?” “Really? put my leg on and get her to bend? That’s the answer??? I doubt it.”

IMG_5512

I appreciate when she goes like this

Weirdly it was the answer. And I don’t know if my handling the spook better has made our rides quite pleasant lately or Macy has just been in a good mood.

We’ve had some major aha dressage and jumping moments. Macy was a saint in our last jump lesson (of which I have zero media) and she proved once again that she will jump from anywhere, over anything, despite what I am doing on her back to make it more difficult for her.

IMG_5511

And this

She is such a different horse from any I have ridden. Yes, she’s a sensitive TB. But she’s also really opinionated. And you’re not going to change her. Lots of head tossing, which is distracting, but I worked really hard to keep my elbows supple.

When it started to thunder, then lightening, then rain, I figured we’d head in. But Sarah kept us jumping. And I was so nervous about the weather I wasn’t helping Macy at all. But, we kept at it, I worked on sitting up, shoulders back, sternum out, and we had a couple of lovely jumps before calling it a night.

Macy is definitely getting me to be a better rider. She can be aggravating as all hell, but when she’s good, she has a lot of wisdom to share and I really enjoy those moments.

IMG_5628

So, for now, it’s two lessons a week on her with me getting her out by lunging or round penning. It seems to be working for now, and we’ll continue to see what the future holds for this partnership.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “More Macy Chronicles

  1. CatMeena says:

    Well done, it’s hard enough getting to know a new horse, let alone getting to know one who throws extra challenges! You and Macy will get there together, already sounds like you’ve made good progress!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren says:

    I’m sorry to read you’re having troubles with Macy, she sounds like a tough ride! I think you’ve got a good plan though and the tough ones definitely make you a better rider if you can get through it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KC Scott says:

    She sounds like a super tough ride, but will definitely make you a better ride. The hard ones always do. That being said…sometimes you just don’t wanna, and that’s ok, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emma says:

    in a way, i kinda love how thought-provoking of a ride Macy is. my friend brita rode this really simple (but great!) gelding wick for years and they had so much fun and did all the things, but when the lease ended she moved on to a sensitive and emotional gray mare. it was… kinda a shocking adjustment for her – but the difference in her own riding (and she’s always been pretty good) is downright incredible. so. i guess it’s never really the ‘simple’ ones who have the most to offer. glad it’s going well with Macy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. L. Williams says:

    It’s always good to have those rides that really pull you outside your wheel house. They can be frustrating but rewarding, you seem to be getting the knack for it and expanding your tool box and mental resilience.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. draftmare says:

    Gosh you’re a braver woman than I to keep plugging away with Macy! But it sounds like you have a solid game plan, and I hope you start to get a good connection soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Glad to here that the new plan of only riding her in lessons seems to be working! Super frustrating about the spooks though, I personally would find that very stressful 🙁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

