Introducing June to the Barn

As I mentioned in my last post, June hasn’t seen much of the world. That said, she’s incredibly easygoing and takes everything in stride. She unloaded from our 5 hour trailer ride, went into her new paddock and was like “Huh. This is where I live now. Ok.” On our first walks around the property she was curious, but not spooky or scared.

I was VERY impressed with my new horse.

And it seems like introducing her to new things, like the big fan in the indoor arena, or the wash stall where she got her first bath, is no big deal. She’s curious about new things, but not scared.

IMG_6040

Bath time for champions

But I am conflicted with how she grew up. One part of me thinks it’s awesome that she just got to be a baby and hasn’t had a lot of pressure put on her. The other part of me wishes more had been done with her so everything wasn’t quite so new at 3 years old.

Her work ethic is pretty much nill. I’ve been working on getting her to yield from pressure. At first she was like. “No. I don’t want to.” And she was a bit slow to actually do it. That whole philosophy of “start gently and add pressure?” Well, we were adding pressure or nothing was happening. But the great news is, on day two she was like “Oh yeah, if I don’t move when you do that, things get worse for me..” and was far more responsive in our work. Yay for learning!

For my part I am learning not to be greedy. Baby horse means literally baby steps. Ugh. I have to go slow and be patient. Even when I want to scream “GET ON THE DAMN TRAILER NOW!”

IMG_6058

She did in fact get on the trailer. But only when her half sister went first

Which, just to be clear, screaming doesn’t work. Strange right?But ugh. Baby steps are so hard for me. So, I am working with someone who knows more than me and can help me help June learn. Our first lesson is on Sunday, as I leave for Rebecca this week and can’t wait to go enjoy Montana!

Here’s to more learning with June. And watching some amazing riding.

 

7 thoughts on “Introducing June to the Barn

  1. Emma says:

    Omg I know that greedy feeling tho! So hard to resist that temptation too lol… Good luck! She has such a sweet face ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathryn says:

    I am sure with the amount of time you are spending working with her, she will be a solid citizen in no time πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. What and exciting time!! Sounds like she has a really good head on her shoulders. I can’t wait to follow y’alls progress!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay baby steps!! We need to have a baby ponies play day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “Get on the damn trailer..” πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Tell that to my 9year old ! Once shes been on a lorry twice she will load perfect but trying to get her on a new lorry is an nightmare! Good luck with the baby steps ! At least shes got not got much prior knowledge of things so everything can be introduced in a positive way 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. L. Williams says:

    My last horse had pretty much nothing done with him in the 4 years prior of me having him and he had a stellar work ethic. I know my current 3yo has been handled a lot but I feel like his approach to work is a lot different. Their just their own beings and I’m sure eventually the nut will get cracked!

    Like

  7. Patience is the hardest skill to learn EVER. Good for you. Baby June is in good hands. πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

